From: Puerto Rico

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Puerto Rico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/01/2018 - 31/12/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Born and raised in the beautiful island of Puerto Rico. I deeply love the outdoors. My favorite things to do on my spare time are hiking and kayaking. I graduated from the University of Puerto Rico with a Bachelors Degree in Political Science. As for my previous employment, I was the Volunteer Coordinator for the Puerto Rico Open 2017 (10th edition) golf tournament. The only PGA Tour tournament in the Caribbean. After the tournament, I decided to travel through some of North America for at least a year. I started on May 13 and have not stopped since. Although I started traveling when I was 9 years old, to places like Europe and many Caribbean islands, this is my first time backpacking for such a long time. 8 months and counting... At some point in my life, whenever I can afford it, I would love to set foot on every single Continent.

    I have had 6th Workaway experiences since then, having the privilege to volunteer for 3 farms, 2 earthships, and 1 hostel. So far my travels through North America have taken me to 2 Canadian Provinces (British Columbia and Alberta) and 30 USA States. I have also extensively explored my island, Puerto Rico and wish to volunteer there as well, at some point.

    I take great pleasure in working and feeling useful. If I agree to a cause or a particular work I am 100% committed and will not give up until the job is done. The phrase of “I don’t stop when I’m tired, I stop when I’m done” really describes my work ethic.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Through Workaway I've had the opportunity to learn about farming, working with animals, gardening and some building skills like how to mix concrete, build a rock wall, pounding tires, dig trenches, peel logs, among other things. I also learned about the procedures of checking in and out hostel guest while providing the best service possible so that the guest could have a great experience.

    Before Workaway, most of my skills were only clerical skills. I am happy to announce that since I started this journey I have gained many other skills along the way and will continue to do so.

    In the past, my duties when I was a Front-End Assistant where to supervise Front-End personnel. Welcome customers, provide assistance and empathetically handled customers concerns and complaints, resolving their issues in a timely manner. I also performed Western Union transactions, obtain and process utility payments, make returns and rain checks, managed bank deposit activities, make sure that cash was counted accurately at the end of each day and generated and maintained account related reports.

    As a volunteer coordinator for a golf tournament, my duties were to recruit over 500 volunteers, train the ones that had no golf knowledge. Assess their skills and assign them to the right committee. Coordinate meetings with possible sponsors. Produce schedules for tournament activities. Communicate frequently with my volunteers to ensure they were satisfied and ok with their assignment. Disseminate information for upcoming events and kept detailed records of volunteers information and assignments, among many many other things.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish & English

  • Age


  • Nationality

    Puerto Rican

  • What else ...

    On January 13 I returned to Puerto Rico to visit my mother, and also Workaway in my country if I have the chance. On May I plan to return to the USA. My goal is to find a long term Workaway opportunity in any of the States, but preferably the Western or Midwestern States. I am willing to do a few short ones before I find a long term opportunity.
    I can't wait to meet my 7th Workaway host. Looking forward to learning some more from you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


My Photo Album

Me on top of El Yunque Peak. Location: Río Grande, Puerto Rico
Helping Jeff build his earthship in Parson, Canada. This was my first Workaway experience. Lot of hard but fun work.
Moving the cows to new pasture @ Lost Savanna Farm. My second Workaway experience.
Driving the farm truck.
Me & Layla in my second Workaway Host home. She is a very fun and smart girl!