Georgie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/05/2018 - 01/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    183

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Why hello fellow workwayers and hosts! I'm Georgie - I come from a small country town in New South Wales, Australia, but for the past 6 months have been living in Melbourne, and have now embarked on a solo trip through Southeast Asia. I am a passionate and enthusiastic person, and upon discovering Workaway, believe that this is the program/idea/opportunity for me!

    My passions include travel, foreign countries, their cuisines, cultures, people, and languages (languages are so much fun! I could have discussions about them for hours!). I also love nature, and of course animals. Having grown up with horses, cats, dogs and chickens all my life, I am very comfortable with animals. Aside from this, I am a real people-person. I can talk the ear off anyone, love a good chat, am super-friendly and am happy to hear from anyone else who might just like a listening ear. I believe good conversation is so important in life - in education, in the sharing of ideas, swapping opinions and listening to others. These are vital to solving problems in life, and also just having a good time. Especially when travelling, talking to the locals of that country is the best part!

    Last year I lived and worked in Japan for 6 months and had the time of my life, getting to know their culture and language. I have made lifelong friends there and will go back and visit in August.

    I'm into music, play guitar and sing. There's nothing quite like a group of people coming together to enjoy music as one. There's always something for everyone to do even if it is just clapping your hands to the beat! I want to bring that experience to people who have never had it before.

    One last thing I must say I love is FOOD!!! I am such a foodie (coming from a foodie family with a cook for a mum), and can't wait to sample everything and learn about the dishes and ingredients from the different places I go. I'd love the chance to cook some things that I've grown up with for other people.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Enthusiastic, energetic and friendly
    - Am good with languages and believe I could help assist with teaching English (or even some Japanese if someone wanted me too!)
    -Love to cook and help in the kitchen and exchange food knowledge and ideas
    - I sing and play guitar and believe music is for everyone! I could help with music groups with singing or guitar or both
    - I am not afraid of manual/outdoor work. Just tell me what to do, how to do it and I will!
    - I spent 6 months in Japan working setting up fences for events and festivals, so I'm used to (and enjoy!) team work and getting things done.
    - I'm pretty good with animals. All my life I've grown up with animals and am from the countryside.

  • Languages spoken

    English is my native language and I also speak conversational Japanese. I am not fluent in it yet, but I love it and plan to continue studying it as soon as possible! I am a lover of language and find all languages fascinating!

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      only bee stings!

    • Special dietary requirements
      I love love LOVE food! I am such a foodie, and food has been one of the most exciting things about coming to Asia to travel. I eat almost anything, provided it is not too scary!

Photos

Feedback