Penelope

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2016 - 01/03/2018

  • Badges


  • Description

    Hello! I'm Penelope. I have recently returned to the UK after three years of overseas travel, and am now looking to build my skills and experiences in my own country. I have been using Workaway for 7 years, and have been lucky enough to experience it in five different countries; all life changing, precious experiences which I will value always.

    My passions and motivations are to learn, experience and live a lifestyle that embraces and supports our environment and spiritual nature, and our animals. I am a real outdoors person, and really appreciate the opportunity to live a basic lifestyle using outdoor skills as often as I can. Ultimately, I would dearly love to one day be part of a community, or to run my own homestay, where I can invite volunteers to skill share and enjoy learning and developing together. I also believe deeply in spirituality; we are all 'spirit' and have so much to learn! I left my country for my recent trip with 15 crystals in my rucksack and a dream of meeting like-minded people who appreciate oneness and our spiritual universe.

    At home in the UK, I have spent a lot of time volunteering and working as a land clearer on community projects, privately, and on organic farms. I'm happy to help with any gardening or land clearance work you may need doing, and am always ready to learn any new skills. I believe the best way to learn is by doing! Whilst in New Zealand I worked on vineyards, bud rubbing, wire lifting and pruning, and in Australia I spent six months working as a fruit picker (apples, blueberries) and raspberry planter. Therefore I am able to pick at speed (as my income depended on it back then!!). I'd love the opportunity to volunteer on any gardening project, natural building, permaculture... anything that supports our beautiful environment. I have spent a lot of my time camping in the wild... one day I'd love to have the skills to live sustainably and would be so grateful for an opportunity to develop further with this. Living naturally is my dream. I'm particularly interested in learning natural building, and would be so grateful for any opportunity to help out with that. To complement this, I am also very keen to learn about holistic therapies and natural medicines and cosmetics, from nature's ingredients.

    In terms of my current skill set, I have a lot of experience in hospitality and customer service; I've worked for many years in waitressing, bar tending, and recently worked in a cafe, so I understand how busy these places can get and I'm ready for the challenge! I feel very confident in these environments and I'm sure I could make a great contribution. Recently I have been working a lot in housekeeping, and have experience supporting breakfast services, so i would be happy to help with caring for guests. As I have spent time working in administration, I'd be happy to help with any reception duties and understand how to make sure the customer gets the best service.

    I have also spent time volunteering at a dog sanctuary in Thailand on three separate occasions, and consider this to be my second home, as well as on an animal sanctuary in New Zealand caring for rescued farm animals. As such, I am confident when working with animals to support their basic care and needs.

    I really enjoy cooking vegan and vegetarian food, and would love to cook my recipes for any workaway host, and learn plenty more from you! Sharing food recipes from around the world is the best!

    I am also qualified in welfare studies (UK certificate) and with this I have experience in support work in my local community, and have also experienced teaching English to asylum seekers in the UK, something which I feel very passionate about.

    I would be very happy and honoured to be given the opportunity to visit and work on projects supporting local communities, eco projects, gardening, help with tourists or at home... anything you'd like that you think I could support you with! Also I would welcome any opportunity to work on charity projects.

    Thank you for reading my profile, and I hope to hear from you very soon :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Animal Care
    Teaching English
    Fruit picking/harvesting
    Land clearance
    Hospitality and housekeeping
    Administrative work
    Cafe work
    Social work (help in the community)
    Vegetarian and vegan cooking

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (intermediate), Spanish (beginners), German (basic)

  • Age

    32 & 43

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback