Erik

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antilles, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/01/2018 - 30/04/2018

  • Badges


  • Description

    I'm originally from Detroit, MI, but grew up in a few different places around the United States. I have been traveling on and off for a few years now, mostly in the States, mostly by bicycle and sailboat. I am in the US Virgin Islands right now, with an eye to travel more around the Caribbean.
    My abiding passion in life is for visual art. I love to learn about it, and love to draw, paint, and make sculptures. I haven't received much training, except for a year at a somewhat informal school in Denmark, but I work on it almost every day. At other locations I've found through Workaway, I've contributed to the property with murals and paintings. Other than that, I like to read, write, bike and hike. I'm learning guitar. I don't need any electronics to have fun and I never get bored.
    I am not an expert in anything, but there are many things I am interested in and want to learn: that's why Workaway works so well for me. I hope to learn Spanish in the Dominican Republic--I can understand it a bit, but can't speak it. I also can't wait to go to Haiti. I have been doing some masonry work recently with a guy from there, and he has been telling me all about the history of the country and playing a lot of Haitian music. It's inspired me to go!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I love drawing and painting, especially with oil paint. I like using house paint too, and can do large-scale murals. Here is a little portfolio:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1QWt5suodK9z6--MwLBMkBwpnoGulqgDQWf9DfCd4zEE/edit?usp=gmail
    I've crewed on several sailboats, including two chartering schooners; one in Maine, and one in the British Virgin Islands. That didn't only involve sailing the boats, but also taking care of the guests. This experience would lend itself well to working at a hostel or hotel.
    I'm interested in doing any work that takes place outdoors. I have experience in masonry--brick and stone walls and paving. I like gardening too.
    Someday I'd like to build a sailboat. So, if there is anything I can do for you that will give me some practice in woodworking or general carpentry, I'd like to do it.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (+ fish)

Profile is connected to:

sofienk


Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback