Emily

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/01/2016 - 01/07/2016


  • Description

    I'm taking an indefinite amount of time out from the mundanity of regular working life to combine travelling with an exploration of alternative lifestyles. Having never been satisfied with the expectations of Western Capitalist society, I want to visit alternative communities to learn more about the practical implementation of things like communal living, eco villages, money free life, sustainability, etc. My dream is to set up or become part of a sustainable and politically engaged commune of some sort.

    I've always loved to travel a lot, and have been across most of Europe, as well as Morocco, Tunisia, India, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Australia and the US. My preferred method of travelling is camping and hitchhiking, but in winter time I prefer methods of travelling that can keep me a bit warmer. I've been nomadic for the last 6 months, having been travelling around Germany for a work project.

    Above all, I love experiencing new things. I have a real lust for life and will always be happy as long as I am learning and broadening my horizons. My favourite thing about travelling is meeting new people and learning new things, and there are so many skills I'd love to learn if I have the opportunity.

    I also believe that music is a really important part of being human, and I love to be around musical people - I am at my happiest singing around a campfire! I also really love creative endeavours of all kinds. As a Jack of All Trades my artistic skills are not hugely refined, but I love getting stuck in and creating things anyway, for me art is about the process, not the result.

    I'm new to workaway but have done a lot of couchsurfing in the past, as well as having worked on a few travel-based volunteering projects that are similar to this sort of thing - I've helped renovate a holiday home near Malaga, have done translation work in exchange for accommodation, and regularly help as part of the catering crew for a small family-friendly festival in the north of England.
    A link to my couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/emily-hillison

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm very hard working and a fast learner, so I pick up most skills quickly.
    I am fluent in English and German and can do translation work from German to English. In the past I have translated websites and newsletters for the German charity hitchhiking organisation, Tramprennen.
    I am a pretty good vegan cook, and I can make a mean vegan carrot cake. I volunteer annually for a vegetarian catering company at small festivals and events, so I have experience of vegan and vegetarian cooking/catering on a larger scale, feeding ca. 150 people per meal.
    I'm not bad at painting and decorating, as well as general household work and maintenance. I also have experience with childcare (ages 0-12).
    If you want to learn some English, Irish and Scottish folk songs, then I would be more than happy to teach you some. If you just want to listen to some folk songs, then I would be more than happy to sing some!

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan, though I am happy to use the same kitchen as meat eaters.

Photos

My Photo Album

A wall mural I made for a Workaway family in Germany.
My German Workaway family!

Feedback