Emma & Andrew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2014 - 01/01/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    566

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Andy and I have spent the last 4 years focusing on our ‘Around the World in 800 Days’ overland adventure. We have just returned to the UK in June 2016 after driving 130,316km through 51 countries and living in our trusty car/home ‘Bee-bee’, a 1994 Toyota Hilux Surf.

    We have joined many workaway placements along our route, with the intention of helping us travel for longer, meet interesting people and hopefully learn new skills that will one day help us build our own home.

    We are hard-working, flexible and easy-going people with a wide variety of skills between us. We enjoy being outdoors and are willing to help out wherever needed.

    We are currently back in the UK planning our next adventure so are looking for workaway placements where we can help out and have time for writing and researching.

    You can learn more about us here...
    https://www.aroundtheworldin800days.com
    https://www.facebook.com/aroundtheworldin800days

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am an Ecologist with experience in environmental conservation, particularly creation of protected areas and wildlife monitoring. I have worked in the Middle East for 9 years and travelled widely in conjunction with my conservation work. I have taught English in India and established and ran an Environmental field centre in the United Arab Emirates for students ranging from primary to undergraduate levels. I am a qualified SCUBA diver and have worked as a production manager on a wildlife documentary series. I have worked in an auxiliary nurse capacity with elderly people and mental health patients. I have broad animal husbandry experience. I am very organised and a good leader but work well in small teams and enjoy new challenges.

    Andy is a practising artist and has exhibited worldwide. Alongside this he is a keen graphic designer and has a healthy interest in all areas of creativity. He has worked extensively in the arts including teaching in higher education and working as a Community Arts Development Officer. He worked as an Art Technician for 8 years were he developed many practical skills from mechanics to carpentry, sewing to metal work and all areas in between. Andy has experience in landscape gardening, tree felling, painting and decorating, delivery and maintenance. He also gained much IT experience working as an IT engineer. Generally he is very practical and has many transferable skills.

    We are both photographers and Andy has website design experience. Through other Workaway projects we have experience in house renovation and maintenance, decorating, landscaping, gardening, livestock care and working on Environmental projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    41 & 42

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Our Southernmost destination reached so far- the Tropic of Cancer in Western Sahara
Camp set-up with our trusty Toyota Hilux Surf 'Bee-bee' at a lagoon on the Moroccan Atlantic Coast
At our happiest in nature, here in Eastern Siberia
Andy and power-tool restoring a house in Croatia
Andy in good Workaway spirit
Emma planting a Vegetable garden in Greece
Pitching in!
Emma... unable to resist any dog or puppy
Andy having fun with the girls at a local orphanage at our workaway in Mumbai
Building a patio and childrens playhouse in South London, Summer 2016

Feedback