Norbert & Dóra

From: Hungary

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, France, Gibraltar, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/10/2016 - 31/07/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

  • Description


    We're a cheerful, young couple originally from Budapest, Hungary, but now we are on the road with our unique, self-built campervan! We started the big adventure in October, 2016 and heading down to Morocco. On the way, we would like to live and see many different lifestyles and places. Dóri is a journalist, Norbi is a photographer, so we plan to create lots of materials that can be shared, so more people would become familiar with the life outside of the obvious and the comfort zone. We want to see and show this amazing side of the world, which takes place outside the big city and everyday things.

    In the last few months, we quit our jobs and built our old van into a small house on wheels. This was a great experience as well - creating something with our hands, seeing the hard work and time that it takes - it is really rewarding to live in caravan that has our sweat, tears and blood. :)

    'To experience' is the ultimate expression that feeds and motivates us. Thats the reason why we try to do it in the deepest and often spontanious way - camping in the wild, hitch-hiking, discovering the nature and seeing things as authentic as possible. This is why we joined this website, where we believe that working as a volunteer is really the deepest way of experiencing! Due to this open-minded attitude, we hitch-hiked through Austria, Italy, Croatia, Montenegro, Albania (where we hiked through the 'Albanian Alps'), Turkey, Dóri spent a year in London as an au-pair at a Zimbabwean-English family, hitch-hiked through Germany, volunteered in Slovenia; Norbi worked as a volunteer in the Himalayas, India, rode his bicycle to the Czech Republic - and we really would like to do similar and new things in the future!

    We love art, movies and books - everything that is valuable for the mind and soul, everything that's guiding our world into the right way (we are fonder of the spiritual, hand-made, nature-close and natural, sustainable, 'green' side of the world, than of the materialist, careerist, wealth-orientated one).

    So, we hope we can meet up with someone on Workaway with a similar perspective and have a lot of fun! :)

    Dóri & Norbi

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    journalist, feeling the vibe in the kitchen, good helper around the house, enthusiastic building-assistant

    I studied journalism and communications at a university in Budapest. Last year, I went to Slovenia for volunteering at a sustainability park which was really amazing! A few years ago I worked as an au-pair in London for a year, where I had to look after 2 kids (2 and 3 years old) and did the all housework. Since I live with Norbi, and we are discovering the secrets of gastronomy! :) I helped a lot Norbi with the campervan, so I do have some building skills!

    architect, photographer, good with dangerous tools, precise and maximalist

    I studied as an architect, which I really liked, because it tought me the precision of an engineer and the mind of an artist! :) I love photography: I did a photography school for 2 years and worked as a photographer last year in Budapest. I really like being outside and making things with my hands (I've been to a building camp, also volunteered to renovate an old palace in Zangla, India, when I was there for internship). That's why I built our campervan myself which was a huge experinence about creation!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Hungarian

  • Age

    28 & 28

  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


My Photo Album

Dóri at Lake Shkodra
Norbi's big biking trip's destination a long time ago
we live in this van for a few months now. We built it ourselves
we live in this van for a few months now. We built it ourselves
we live in this van for a few months now. We built it ourselves