Dora

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, South Korea

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/07/2018 - 15/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    781

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Dora, currently a second year medicine student at an international college in Utrecht, the Netherlands. I took a gap year after high school, in which I traveled in Cambodia, Laos and Thailand. The traveling part of this trip was amazing, but what I enjoyed the most - and therefore also did for the biggest part - was working as a volunteer in a drop-in center for neglected children.
    This year I had the opportunity to do Workaway again, as I studied abroad in Seoul, South Korea for a semester. Before the semester started, I worked in a hydroponic strawberry farm in the second biggest city, Busan. We did farm work like picking and taking out dead leaves, but we also guided family tours in the farm.
    Both of the times I did Workaway were the most enriching experiences in my life so far, and I have managed to make my mom enthusiastic about it with my stories as well. Therefore, we decided to do Workaway together during the summer holiday to see whether this is something she would also like to do on her own in the future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    In Cambodia, I worked in a drop-in center for poor and neglected children. We provided a safe place for them to meet other children and we taught different levels of English classes every day. Because the project completely relied on volunteers, we also cooked and cleaned the buildings ourselves. I stayed here for about 2 months, so I became pretty good at teaching English to the kids and cooking for big groups. I also loved spending time with the children, just by playing and helping them with things like computer skills.

    In Korea, I learned more about how it is to work in an actual business. We had big groups of people coming, especially on the weekends, for which we had to prepare a lot of strawberries during the weekdays. Sometimes the days were rather long, but it didn't feel long to me at all i when we were working with the plants. I found out that I really love being in the nature and would love to improve my obtained basic knowledge about agriculture.

    Talking about more specific skills; I have had 10 years of piano classes and I tend to bring my ukulele everywhere I go (I'm not a professional, but I know how to play most of the chords and like to sing along with the songs I play). I also draw a lot, mostly portrait drawing. In both of these - music and arts - I could give classes or workshops if it suits the Workaway host.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English and very eager to improve my basic French

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Even though I may not have the perfect skills for some Workaway places, I always love trying new things. I am a hard worker and quick learner who is always up for a challenge, and I promise I will always stay positive :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback