Danie

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/04/2017 - 01/07/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Since I came to Norway, 6 years ago already, it feels like home... After working on a farm for nearly a year, I had to return to the Netherlands, where I found a job, but kept going back to the farm at least twice a year during holidays.

    After four years I made the decision to quit my job and start traveling trough Norway to see more of this beautiful country and to see which place or area attracts me the most to settle down and find a job.

    I've worked many jobs with animals such as working on and running farms in several countries, working with sheep, cows, chickens, pigeons, horses, goose and goats, in a veterinarian clinic with dogs, cats and rabbits, at wildlife rescue centers with Scottish and British wildlife and at the sea turtle protection society of Greece.
    There is no nine to five mentality inside me. Time doesn't exist for animals, and since I've mostly worked with/for them I'm used to work the job and only finish when I am finished, or can leave it to the next day.

    In addition to the animals related jobs I've also worked as a salesperson in a tank station, music store, shoe store and on fairs with handwork, mostly knitting and crochet. I've also cleaned offices and did data entry work for a big company. I used to work for Ikea as well, where I build the stock to sell them in the sell-out corner and fixed broken things.

    I love to organize and bring structure into rooms/areas, tidy up, be creative and think outside the box and mainly in possibilities. Listening to people and their needs is something I like to do, in addition to search for the best way to help them. I have experience with working in a garden, painting inside a house, cleaning, carpentry work, maintenance of computers, bikes, most non-elektronica devices and some electronic devices.
    But don't ask me to build an electricity plan from scratch by myself... But I will be happy to support you so I can learn doing it!

    I seek for new adventures and would love to learn all kinds of things.
    For the free time I also love to learn new things. I have done some indoor-climbing and free-climbing outside, but would love to learn climbing in the mountains.
    At home I use to bike a lot, so bike rides are also a great option. Walking or hiking around mountains or in nature is on my favorite list as well, such as canoeing, watching a great movie, reading a good book or being creative with paint, pencil or wool.

    Although I have worked with horses and children, both of them are not my speciality.
    I do look forward to have some good experience with horses in addition to a few not so good ones.

    During my traveling I'm also trying to expand my Norwegian language skills and every help is welcome!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    With 2 right hands I'm able to do most things. I'm creative and love to learn. I'm a hard worker with a variety of skills.
    My hobbies are drawing, writing, creating things from wood, wool or other materials, biking, running, sports, seeing (inspiring) movies, photography... and many things more!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Norsk (learning)

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Netherlands

  • What else ...

    I'm open to a lot of things, and looking forward to expand my language skills. I've several recommendation letters from companies where I've worked. If you are interested in looking at my cv, please let me know by sending a message/email, and I will sent it to you! You can also have a look at LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/dani%C3%ABlle-de-backker-5775b4114

    If you want a reference you can also call to Kåre Nordbye: 0047 99 42 42 56, he is the person who I worked for for over a year while I was in Norway for the first time, and I'm still helping his mother (next door farm).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Soja, fish

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback