Kevin

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/06/2016 - 27/06/2043

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello there, Kevin here, a 51 year old English guy looking to help out with whatever projects you may have on the go. I came across WorkAway a couple of years ago and love the ethos of swapping shelter and sustenance for input and effort.
    I also like the idea of living efficiently and love the opportunities technology is bringing to help us make that happen, affordable solar panels for example. I'm also excited by the continuously evolving world of renewables and how we really are on the verge of a whole new way of generating, storing and consuming energy. I can't wait to have my first electric car! And to think I've already lived through a communications revolution, which was amazing, and that I may now get to live through a transportation revolution too, is thrilling, it really is! I have a fold-up electric bike so I'm joining in as much as I can!
    Also I'm eternally interested in the spaces we live in and how best to make them work. On that note, I think the new Tiny House Living movement is fantastic. I am hoping to build myself a trailer based tiny house sometime, next year maybe. I need to, I don't have a pension! The efficient use of space when living on boats was something that I always got a kick out of in my yachting days. And I would love to be a part of helping other people be aware of the liberating and energising effects of such an efficient lifestyle. Perhaps by building them a tiny house too, who knows, that's all in the future....
    We live in exciting times for sure. I feel lucky for that.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have decent experience of building works having run my own interior refit company for a while, so a good working knowledge of renovations, plumbing, elctrics, heating etc. We also specialised in kitchen and bathroom installation so those skills may come in handy. Additionally we took on some fun design and build projects of kitchens, furniture, festival props and more in the workshop too.
    I have experience of taking a project overview, from design to making it all happen, so perhaps I could help you with the planning and ideas stage of things if needed. I love thinking things through and coming up with and developing ideas for how best to get done what needs to be done.
    I really want to help people realise the visions and dreams that they have, and hope that I can pass on some of what I've learned whilst getting a buzz from getting stuck in and helping out and being open to learning new stuff too.
    I don't have a lot of gardening experience but I'm hoping to learn about growing food as that sounds like a great way to go. And I'm looking for those lovely benefits that come from doing some, basic, physical labour.
    Im very comfortable with computers and the internet, so whilst I'm no expert in that area, I would be happy to help if thats not really your thing. I'm into how things look and function and I like colaberating on plans, chewing things over, and working out the best next step to take together.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    Getting stuff done and helping make stuff happen is fun, and I really do like the more difficult jobs, tasks that need a bit of thinking through and working out. If you need input and well thought out ideas, I could be your man.

    Meeting up and seeing where our thoughts and ideas and efforts can go together seems to me to probably be the best way to discover where our compatibilities lie.

    Taking that first step leads to all the others.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

PerrineP


Photos

The Swedish tree-house. Now that was a fun project :-)
On the job....
Creating solutions to problems.
Classic WorkAway outing.
Luna, the new love in my life :-) We will probably be arriving together if you invite me in the near future!!

Feedback