Claire

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Slovenia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/09/2018 - 26/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Claire. I currently live in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Calgary has been my home for the past 19 years. Great friends and amazing surrounding nature (Rocky Mountains in our backyard!) has kept me here for as long as it did. That being said, I am in need of a change!
    Beginning of February, the telecommunications company I work for informed us that they were looking to depart employees voluntarily. I decided to take the leap and agree to the offered package. Comes mid-September, I will be free to roam and explore new horizons.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I'm available from October 2018 to October 2019 *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    A little about me:
    I was in born in Montpellier, France and currently hold both Canadian and French citizenships which should make it nice and easy to Workaway in Europe :) . I am bilingual in French and English and have a little bit of basic Spanish and Italian (wouldn't mind getting better in both languages!). I spent most of my childhood in Montreal, QC, a city where many good memories were made. In 1999, my family moved to Calgary, AB.
    In university I studied journalism and gravitated towards TV in 2015. I am a self-taught videographer and editor with over 5+ years of experience in writing. I am a very passionate person who likes open-mindedness and good discussions. I'm a hard worker and always have been. I enjoy team work and working independently on equal terms. I can be fairly reserved and enjoy my privacy, however, I am very adaptable and understanding and can share space with others when required. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I can be described as an "extroverted-introvert" if that makes sense ;). I like positive mindsets and people who give their best. I like a community feel like cooking dinner as a group etc. I enjoy learning about others and what makes people unique. I like dancing, yoga and a huge fan of being outside vs being inside. I also love art history.
    I started traveling at the age of 18 and have been hooked ever since. I have previously worked for Air Canada as a customer service representative and had the great opportunity to travel to destinations such as Japan (twice!), Hawaii and Europe to name a few.
    My passions lie in writing, producing video content, yoga, self-care, nature, traveling etc. A dream job would be to work as a TV writer. But who knows! My direction might change after experiencing the world differently!

    My ideal workaway experience:
    -somewhere where I can learn new skills. (farming, gardening, flowers, building a tiny house etc)
    -somewhere where I can offer my current skills (See below for a list of all skills)
    -somewhere warm (warmer than -20, shouldn't be too hard to find ;))
    -somewhere with cats as they make me over the top giddy !! (I am very good with animals)
    -somewhere where paddle boarding is involved
    -working at a hostel
    -working for an art project/art institution
    -yoga retreat /meditation centre

    New skills I'm open to learn:
    -riding a motorcycle
    -learning how to surf
    -sailing/working on a boat
    -working on a farm
    -building a tiny house
    -helping with gardening work
    -learning about flowers
    -learning a new language (Italian, Spanish etc)
    -working on a vineyard
    -developing better cooking skills
    -developing better Salsa or Swing dancing skills
    -beekeeping


    Looking to hear from you soon!
    Cheers!
    Claire

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    videography
    photography
    social media (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram)
    TV production
    event production
    pet care
    customer service
    Premiere Pro editing
    writing and copy editing
    blogging
    leadership skills
    teamwork
    people skills
    time management
    self-starter
    creativity
    research
    communications

  • Languages spoken

    English French

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Canadian/French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      NO

    • Special dietary requirements
      I avoid gluten as much as I can and dairy. I'm OK providing my own substitutes for these.

Photos

Feeding Syros Cats.
Local Drop Mag issue release party at Village Brewery in Calgary, AB
paint job in Syros, Greece
social media/photography for Syros Cats

Feedback