Celine

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2018 - 31/05/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi!
    I'm a young jeweler from from Switzerland and I'm travelling in UK to see other type of countries with other type of people who live other type of lifestyle! My first objective is to learn/train my English, I also want to become more independent and to challenge myself in other type of work.
    I quit my job as a jeweler in a big factory, because I want to go out of my routine for a while, and I think this place is perfect to find the right destination to go out of the confort zone. I want to see how you can live with nature, with the simple things, meeting people in this mood is something I'd love to!
    I'm a very calm and quiet person, in my spare time I read, write, listen to music, workout. I also like the outdoors, hiking, running and going on bike tours.
    I like animals, I'm not afraid of them and I'm calm and patient with them. I've worked with horses (even tough I can't ride, but would love to learn), in farms, and in Switzerland we live in a house in the countryside. I like working outside, it's something I missed in my job as a jeweler. I don't consider myself as a weak person (in strength), but I know I have limits, and I like to learn to push the limits, going further I thought I could.
    I'm an independent, reliable and hard-working person. I can hold responsibilities, and I always do my best to do what is asked of me and not to deceive any of my hosts.
    I'm not a difficult person, I don't mind sharing my space with someone, I'm a discreet, tidy and organized: like a Swiss person, I guess I'm sort of a stereotype! ^^

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a jeweler, and I love to work with my hands and get along with new things (in manual, creative, building activities). DIY, painting, building is something I like.
    I can work in a team as well as alone; I was part of the leader team of my youth group for 5 years. I take responsibilities seriously, I'm easily into routine (on time) and I can adapt to a lot of situation (I surprised myself on this trip!).
    Working with animals is something I really enjoy, I treat them with respect and I like learning to know them. (I put almost everything in my description above).
    A few things I learn or did during my trip so far:
    - basic hostelry: cleaning and getting a place ready for hosts, having the eye for details (hotel/BnB/self-catering)
    - animal feeding/ cleaning routine
    - tree/brambles clearance (I could do that all day!)
    - milking goats
    - refurbishing furniture (sanding/painting/...)
    - painting (outdoors/indoors) places or signs
    - I did some dog sitting, but I found myself unable to be obeyed by a too-enthusiastic dog (I don't like to shout at animals)
    - ... I did so many different things during the last 6 months! I found myself easily adapted to new people, places, situations and day routines.

  • Languages spoken

    French (mother language); English; German (basics)

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Switzerland

  • What else ...

    Gluten and dairy-free

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten-free; Dairy-free

Photos

Feedback