Bertie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/09/2018 - 15/06/2020


  • Description

    An English traveller. I love the outdoors; wildlife, nature, countryside and fresh air. I really enjoy travelling; meeting fantastic people, learning new languages, skills and experiencing different cultures. I love hiking, exploring and simply travelling. During my trip through Latin America I want to learn more about permaculture/ self sustainability, teach English, and improve my Spanish.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a quick learner and latch onto most things pretty fast. I have plenty of experience gardening having done it as a part-time job back home. On this trip I’ve worked on a permaculture project in Nicaragua where I learnt a great deal. I especially enjoyed chopping wood, building top-soil, seeding and planting. I’ve also been working in a couple of hostels In Costa Rica, taking pleasure in welcoming guests and giving them information about the area. In Colombia I have been picking coffee, and working on a bio-construction project, helping a family to build a house made of natural
    materials. Just recently I’ve spent two months teaching English in Acacias, Meta. Had great fun! Before coming to this side of the world I did lots of volunteer work in New Zealand and Australia, working on farms, agricultural projects, and taking care of animals. Back in England I also worked as a painter, activity instructor and with construction. I have a good initiative and common sense, and can be left alone to work on a task by myself, but also enjoy working with other people.

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback