Belinda & Florian

From: Australia & France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/09/2018 - 01/02/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Let us tell you a story:

    Once upon a time, an Australian law student went out for dinner in a restaurant, and her waiter was French. After dinner, the French waiter took the girl out for drinks on his scooter. They fell in love, and five years later, they decided to quit their jobs to travel around the world together.

    Guess what? This couple is real, and it's us!

    We believe that life is too short to be cautious, and that now is the time for us to explore the world. We also believe that it's our responsibility to be educated about the effect our food choices have on ourselves, our loved ones and our communities. This year, our mission is to learn everything we can about growing food that is good for us, and good for the planet. We are looking for a Workaway project to continue our journey!

    We are not here for free accommodation. We are not here for tourism. Our wish is to share our skills, our cultures and to connect with locals during our time in Colombia.

    Why Colombia? We have both backpacked and traveled around the world, but we both felt that this country was calling us to come back one day. So we listened.

    We are passionate about everything that allows us to connect with other people and with nature: languages, food, rock climbing, hiking, salsa, writing and music.

    Update: We have now been in Mexico for two months and are speaking Spanish daily. We recently completed our first Workaway Experience in Cuernavaca, Mexico and it was an unforgettable experience. We spent one month cooking meals for a family of 7 people and giving intensive English lessons. We can't wait to start our next Workaway project!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    1. Gardening, Farm Work

    Florian lived and worked on a strawberry farm in rural Queensland, Australia for 3 months. He has experience picking, packing, weighing and supervising other farm workers. Belinda is very interested in farming and gardening, and loves looking after plants, flowers and trees. She has experience doing basic gardening in her home in Australia. This year, we started learning about the chemicals that are used to grow food in large quantities, and we realised that growing our own food is very important. We are ready to work hard, to learn, and we are not afraid to get dirty!

    2. Household Help

    In October 2018, we completed our first Workaway project which included cooking family meals for 7 people 2-3 times per week. We also assisted with continual cleaning of the kitchen as the 5 family members came and went throughout the day. Florian was a restaurant manager and waiter for 10 years, and Belinda was a waitress for 9 years.

    3. English Teaching/Immersion

    In October 2018, we spent 4 weeks giving intensive English lessons to children in a Mexican family. Belinda is a native English speaker. She has experience assisting children and adults, She can teach in groups and individually. Florian is a fluent English speaker and can also assist with English practise. Belinda studied law and commerce at university and can assist people who wish to learn complex vocabulary and formal essay writing.

    4. French Teaching/Immersion

    Florian is a native French speaker and helped Belinda become fluent in French. Belinda also speaks fluent French and can assist with French practise. Florian can assist people who wish to develop a high level of French.

    5. Websites, Social Media, Digital Marketing

    Belinda is a Digital Marketing Consultant. She creates, manages and audits online marketing material including websites, Facebook Pages, Facebook Ads and blog articles. She has clients in Australia, Asia and the United States in various industries including law, finance, sport and consulting.

    6. Help with Tourists

    Florian has worked in a backpacking hostel in Queenstown, New Zealand. He has experience welcoming guests, providing tourist information and helping travelers to plan their travel itineraries. Between the two of us, we speak four languages (French, English, Spanish and Chinese).

  • Languages spoken

    English (Belinda native, Florian fluent), French (Florian native, Belinda fluent), Spanish (Florian intermediate, Belinda beginner)

  • Age

    27 & 31

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback