Ashley

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there. My name is Ashley. I was raised in upstate NY, and have since spent time living in most of the northeastern states (bouncing around to various biological field work and farming jobs), as well as California and the USVI. For the last three years, I've been living in beautiful midcoast Maine, where I've worked on an organic vegetable farm and helped to care for a homestead farm.

    I am ready for some new experiences and would like to spend some time in other parts of the country. Key places of interest for me are the southwest (especially New Mexico), Appalachia, and Louisiana, though with that said, I am a believer in journeys over destinations. I have taken advantage of work-exchange opportunities in the past (wwoofing in Vermont and Greece) and have had good, enriching experiences. I like the opportunities for connection, learning, service, and low-cost travel that it affords.

    This experience will be a little different for me, in that I'll be bringing along my almost two year old pup, Bodhi. He is a very happy, friendly, adaptable guy. He's well-socialized and has made friends with all people and other dogs that he's met. He likes a good walk and a good bone. I take dog companionship seriously and am an attentive and responsible caretaker. I'm excited to have him along for the ride, and hopeful that we will find mutually beneficial opportunities and make some new friends!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I've got quite a bit of farming/gardening experience, mostly in the northeast US. As far as veggies go, I've grown most of everything that I would want to eat (and more) that can be grown in a northeast US climate, enough to feed a couple families, and freeze/can/process for the winter. I have both commercial farming and homesteading experience. I worked with grapevines for a couple seasons, and learned a couple things there, and have also worked with fruit trees and other perennials. I am comfortable caring for sheep, laying hens, and cattle, and have raised chickens and pigs for meat.

    I have lots of customer service experience - working in restaurants, at a food co-op, at a cafe/bakery, and at farmers markets. I enjoy this sort of work and interaction, and find it easy to serve and connect with others in this capacity.

    I am adept at and comfortable with most kitchen tasks (including cleaning!). It's a favorite place of mine, and I enjoy cooking, baking, and sharing all kinds of foods, especially those inspired by seasonal and local ingredients. I would be happy to help with household chores outside of the kitchen as well.

    I enjoy spending time with children, elderly folks, and furry friends, and would be happy to help caretake in any of these capacities.

    I am very open to learning and am generally quick to pick up new things. I can't think of much I would be opposed to doing! Carpentry skills are something I haven't yet developed, but would like to.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (some - would like to improve!)

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    US

  • What else ...

    I live a relatively quiet and simple life. I most enjoy spending time outdoors - going for runs, walks, bike rides, gardening, birdwatching. I also like to read, journal, cook, and do yoga. I appreciate a good cafe, bookstore, thrift shop, or farmers market. I enjoy sharing time and experiences with others, and think that I am generally a positive person and easy to get along with. I strive to be mindful and respectful. I value honesty and clear communication, and function best when I know what is expected of me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback