Anna & Marcin

From: Poland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/10/2017 - 31/03/2018

  • Badges


  • Description

    Together 16 years and married 4 years ago, we know each other pretty well. Travel, discovering local traditions and food from farm to table, nature, farming, animals and cycling are our common interests. We have a food and travel blog named twohungrypeople.com. Two years ago we cycled from Poland to Greece and volunteered there in 4 different places for 8 months. These were some of the best days of our lives -- we made good friends, learned so many new things which is very empowering and stayed in some of the most beautiful places we've been too. We loved it so much we decided to do it again in Portugal and Spanish Galicia, where we spent 9 months altogether. Now we're in Bulgaria where we want to stay over the winter and start looking for our own place on Earth. Our 9 year old dog, Lima, always travels with us.

    Anna's background is in pharmacy and clinical research but she was also doing other jobs like cooking, developing recipes, photographing farms, doing workshops on nutrition and wild edibles. Some of her hobbies include gardening and other outdoor activities, spending time with animals, teaching, cooking, blogging, photograpy. She is a true bookworm, always reading several books at a time, interested in exploring local cuisines and wild plants. She is passionate about designing a life to fit individual needs and passions, the power of thoughts and daily laughs. One day she would like to have her own cozy guesthouse with good food and bikes.

    Marcin's background is in teaching English. He taught at a wide range of levels -- from kindergarten to teaching English teachers. He also worked at a bicycle shop and loves to ride, repair and improve bikes. He likes to get his hands dirty and do repairs around the house. He's a handyman and a problem solver and can spend hours fixing someone's bike, mending a broken lens or whatever he finds in his vicinity that needs to be fixed. He is also our computer wizard, always rescuing Anna from all kinds of trouble. He enjoys farming and taking care of animals, especially goats.

    Lima is a friendly, 9 years old female pet dog. She travels with us in the bicycle trailer. She's been to many countries, houses, restaurants, hotels etc. and knows how to behave well. She went with us on trains, buses, boats, planes, ferries, cars and even a cable car :) She volunteered in Greece, Portugal and Spain and was enjoying a lot her life full of new adventures. At home she mostly sleeps but outside she loves to run, hike and chase the ball. As she lived her life in the flat with us, she is used to staying at home, especially at night - a condition we ask our hosts to accept.

    We are a very easy-going, tolerant couple, patient and not afraid of work. We love open-minded people who aren't deadly serious about life. We respect others and like to keep our word. We travel because we wanted to shake up our lives and do something we're genuinely interested in.

    After two nomadic years we consider ourselves workaway veterans - we've spent more than 15 months volunteering in several places. It broadened our experience with organic gardening and permaculture, taking care of animals, renovation/painting/organizing, website/copywriting/social media and various other tasks. Our favorite thing is to work in the vegetable garden or take care of the animals but we like to learn new things too. We can also fix your bikes, create a website and take good pictures of your place. Our standing goal is to get to know local cuisine, culture and everyday life, while being helpful at the same time. If you think we can become friends and partners at your place, don't hesitate and drop us a message!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    cooking, farming, teaching, small repairs, renovation skills like painting, sanding etc., animal care (experience mostly with goats and chickens), pet sitting, bicycle mechanics, translations, photography/computer/website/social media help

  • Languages spoken

    Polish, English, a tiny bit of Spanish and German

  • Age

    34 & 34

  • Nationality

    Polish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

Our first workaway experience on Greek Lefkada
Lima helping with the olive harvest
Buliding chicken quarters on Greek Evia
Mastering the art of milking goats
Our lovely Cretan goats
Picking olives on Greek Lefkada
My first time cleaning chickens
Our lovely Cretan goats
Potato hunter on Crete

Feedback