Amanda

From: Sweden

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/08/2018 - 08/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi!

    I'm so happy you found my profile! My name is Amanda, I'm 22 years old and I'm from Sweden.
    I love travelling and meeting new people, it's one of my biggest passions. It's such a pleasure to be invited to someone's home and learn about their culture. I did my first workaway last year on a farm in Switzerland and it was truly amazing, two of the best weeks in my life! Since then I've been doing 4 other amazing workaways here in Canada! I've also been volunteering at a Swedish music festival and at the Ice Hockey World Championship in Copenhagen, which both were incredible experiences.

    I quit my full-time job back home in August to make my dream in Canada come true, and I've been volunteering in mostly hostels but also in families since then! I went to Canada for two weeks in 2016 and fell in love with your country and people. That's why I applied for a working holiday visa, so this time I can stay for a whole year! I started alone in Newfoundland and made my way by bus and ferry to Montréal where my boyfriend, Fredrik, joined me for this amazing experience. Three hours outside of Montréal we did an amazing workaway together in the wilderness - a memory we will take with us forever! Fredrik's name on Workaway is "Mcyer333" and he is linked to my profile.

    A little bit about me: I'm a happy and easy-going person who loves to travel and explore. I love mountains, the ocean and going for adventures. I prefer a small village and the calm rather than the busy city life. A beautiful view will make my whole day, I don't need much more! I enjoy taking walks, listening to music, singing, baking, going to the gym, playing floorball, watching ice hockey, learning new languages (I have studied English, French, German, Italian, Latin and Finnish and can speak pretty good German and French, at least understandable!), reading books, cuddling with dogs and spending time with my family.

    I have previous experience as a housekeeper, fronst desk agent, aupair, deli associate, barista and customer service representative - just to mention a few. I'm pretty curious and eager to learn, I like trying new things! I am very open to this and I am ready to try out most things, such as: Baby-sitting, animal care, tourism, events, hostel and B&B-services, cafés, restaurants, projects and languages. I love meeting and working with people and have never tried out construction for example - if you want something professionally done in that area I might not be the perfect one (but Fredrik is quite handy and has renovated his own condo).

    Fredrik and I work really well together but don't mind working apart either. We're a calm couple who prefer nice hikes and exploring the nature instead of partying in the city. We complement each other very well; I'm a bit more creative and philosophical while Fredrik is more of the practical one. Which is great since we can share our knowledge! Our biggest problem though, is that I want to cuddle every dog I see and Fredrik is allergic to pets - so if you have any, we might sadly not be able to visit you depending on the circumstances.

    I really love exploring new areas and would be very happy to have time to do so when staying with you!

    I hope to hear from you and feel free to ask me any questions you might have! I can't wait to get to know you, your culture and your country!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    At home I've been working within tourism, in a hotel, as a teacher, in a supermarket, in a café/restaurant and with customer service. My latest job was as responsible for a juice bar; I made smoothies and juices in a supermarket and I was also responsible for coming up with new recipes. I have also been an aupair for one month in Munich and I have volunteered for two weeks at a farm in Switzerland! As mentioned above I've also volunteered at a festival and at the Ice Hockey World Championship 2018. In the future I'd like to work with communication, events or tourism.

    At the moment I'm working as a deli associate here in Canada for the holiday season!

  • Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, some French and German

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Swedish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nuts

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

Mcyer333


Photos

Learned how to surf in Australia!
At our previous workaway outside of Montréal!
Milking a cow for the first time!
A magical hike in Norway.
One of my first times kayaking!
At the end of our hike in Mont-Tremblant!
Beautiful Switzerland
Met such a cute dog when visiting Oslo!
Christmas in New Zeeland!
Hockey Hall of Fame!
Visiting a maori village in New Zeeland!

Feedback