Alicja

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Kenya, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United States, Venezuela

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/07/2018 - 15/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    498

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We're gonna divide this section in two: the first one is about us and why we want to do THIS together, and the second is about us as individuals :)
    ABOUT US
    We are childhood friends, living together in London and also attending unis (1st and 2nd year).
    Why did we become friends?
    From the first day when we were together there were no days when we didn't laugh to the point of our stomachs hurting, since then we went through a lot and we're looking for something that would challenge us and we're also looking for the way to give back all the opportunities we were given over the years by volunteering, trying to make a small difference.
    We love travelling (duh, seems kinda obvious, that's why most of us are here) and we want to make the summer of 2018 the time when we're gonna try something new, exciting and see a part of the world we haven't seen before (which, makes most of the places around the world exciting, as we've seen just a tiny fraction of it).

    ABOUT ME- Alicja
    I love first of all WARMTH (I come from a super cold country by my standards), sailing, horse riding, road trips, reading , writing, movies (hopefully I'm gonna make them one day), musicals, learning about new cultures, hearing other sounds than cars passing by my window in London, swimming, meeting new people, especially fellow travellers and sailors. And I'm in my 2nd year of studying film and comparative literature and hopefully one day I will write a movie or direct a documentary.

    There are three things I'm really proud of:
    1) I taught Chechen kids Polish and helped out with their homework as well as Polish kids later on when I was between the ages of 14 and 16.
    2) I sailed for a month and a half from Swinoujscie (Poland through English Channel, Atlantic Ocean, Mediterranean sea to Genoa, Italy when I was 14/15. This experience with kids my age from all over Poland whom I didn't know in the beginning. This taught me not to give up and always look out for the people in your team.
    3) Moving from a small town to London, managing work and my studies for a year and a half now.

    Three things I want to do in my 20s:
    1) See as much as possible (seriously, when I look at the map, there isn't a place I don't want to see)
    2) Volunteer long term
    3) Meet as many amazing people as possible.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I helped out my family with building a fence, repainting the house, gardening. I did small repairs on Pogoria (the best yacht of my life) when I was sailing around Europe.
    I can teach kids English, I can work with tourists (I work in hospitality - I'm a waitress).
    I like to think I can cook, but a lot of people disagree :D
    I'm good with animals (except from cats,they don't really like me, but they don't seem to like anybody...), especially dogs and horses- I grew up with three big West Siberian Laikas and since I was little I spend a little bit of summer and sometimes afternoons in my school year riding horses. I can train them, but just the basic stuff (I spent 2-3 weeks as a volunteer in a farm that practised natural horsemanship).

  • Languages spoken

    English and Polish fluently, just started to learn Spanish

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Polish, British Residence

  • What else ...

    I can do any kind of physical work (this is one of the reasons we paired up together), it calms us down, makes us reflect, we find it very rewarding.
    I'm patient, but also super stubborn, in a good way, I don't really give up on things.
    I'm always looking for a challenge, so whatever work I'm going to be given, even if it's new, I'll do my best to learn. And I never leave a mess behind me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

Aleksandra97


Photos

Feedback