Alen

From: Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/01/2019 - 17/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2288

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My name is Alen and I am from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. I am 28 year old (they are flying like crazy, right). I like wandering around and mostly using alternative ways for so (hitchhiking, camping etc.) and so far I am doing well that way. And for those people who think 'Well, I would pick him up but he may be serial killer' - well, I am not. :D

    I have a master degree from Faculty of Criminal Justice in Sarajevo (Criminal Investigation department) and I was studying in English in Czech Republic in Brno.

    I joined Workaway to meet more likeminded people and to acquire new skills and to share the knowledge, thoughts, ideas I already have. Let's help each other is a great idea I want to take part in. :)

    I had a blessing to have three mind-blowing experiences through this website and all of them were hostel related in three different countries - Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary and Portugal.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    The most important skill I would like to point is resourcefulness or problem solving, I will find a solution for every problem unless it's something really complicated like quantum mechanics (sorry, can't help there). But I mean, every day normal human problems, I am your guy. I am believer of stoic philisophy meaning problem is not in problem but the problem is in our way of looking at problem. So first, let's calm down and see what can we do :P

    But now, some real life skills. I can help about computers since I am using one sucessfully for a long time. I am pretty good with other people, social person and I believe in 'Do unto others as you would have them do unto you ' which certainly should be the skill in today's world. I was working in the USA for four months as a waiter, cashier and busser so there you go - more interhuman skills plus knowledge of soda drinks names that we don't have in Europe. I have been volunteering with few NGOs where my job was to organize things which I did well. I am animal lover as well, and I made thousands of professional photos of dogs and cats which were adopted and I have been taking stray dogs from streets for 2 years so far and adopted them succesfully around Europe (you can check their photo albums on my FB profile). Dogs are indeed our best friends (although these proverb is said by humans and not dogs). :)

    I have three experiences through Workaway so far, including volunteering in hostels in Budapest (Hungary), Mostar (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Lisbon (Portugal) and if needed I can provide you with reccommendation letters. I met so many cool people, had awesome time and learned so much about hostel job(s) and duties. My job in these hostels was mostly socializing with guests, but I covered reception work, cooking and cleaning if needed.

    In my humble opinion, the most important thing is to have a wil or volition (Schopenhauer is turning in grave) and with that we are able to learn anything, and I have plenty of it. I am team worker but can get along with myself and Workaway for me should be exchange in acquiring new skills from each other. Learn and grow!

    I hitchhiked in four continents and traveled 30 countries including not so usual destinations such as Iraq and Mauritania. So, I guess that you must have skills to do that mate. :D

    Oh yes, and I speak Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian/Montenegrin (for all people there who speak one of these languages, don't tell that it's basically one language because I sound smarter then). I speak English too (I was studying in English in Czech Republic as well as working in USA and Ireland).
    _____
    Looking for a volunteering option in Thailand! :) I will stay for at least 2 months in period of January 17th to March 17th.

  • Languages spoken

    Bosnian / Croatian / Serbian & English

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback