Alexis

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 13/02/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1395

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Alexis Busso. I recently graduated from the University of Oregon (UO) in the United States with a Master's in Language Teaching Studies through the Linguistics Department. I also received my Bachelors from UO in International Studies and Spanish with a focus in Education and Latin American studies. I have a deep passion for traveling and a love for children and education. My desire is to gain skills and knowledge in Spanish-speaking countries for a short period of time so that I can pursue a career in English teaching. My interests in language teaching include:
    - Pragmatics
    - Writing Skills
    - Teacher Training
    - Autonomous Learning
    - Global Education
    - Metacognition
    - Educational Administration

    While studying for my Master's, I was a graduate instructor who taught a Listening and Grammar skills course at an English Institute. A year ago, I had my first Workaway experience in Colombia where I had the opportunity to teach at a private English school. These experiences and more inspire me to continue traveling and teaching!

    I got the travel bug 3 years ago when I went on my first international experience to work in Beijing for 2 months. Since then I have studied abroad in Mexico, traveled throughout Europe, and taught in Colombia. I am independent, friendly, enthusiastic, adventurous and passionate.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked in a variety of classroom settings and skill levels. Furthermore, I have experience working at the elementary level as well as middle, high, and university level. I have worked as a tutor/mentor at after-school programs for at-risk children, served as a camp counselor in China and Stuttgart, Germany, and I have volunteered as an assistant's teacher at a bilingual elementary school.

    I have a Master of Arts in Language Teaching and I have taken courses on curriculum design, assessments, teaching English pronunciation, English grammar, second language teaching methods and so much more! After graduating, I have decided to take a gap year and will be traveling throughout Southeast Asia.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Asian American

  • What else ...

    During my free time, I enjoy playing the piano, ballroom dancing, doing yoga and running. I love anything outdoors related and meeting new people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian

Photos

Hiking the Garmish Alps
One of the largest monoliths in the world at Pena de Bernal, Queretaro
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Prague, Czech Republic at Vysehrad
Paris, France at the Notre-Dame de Paris.
Berlin, Germany at the Berlin Wall.
Graduation, 2018 with a Master's in Langauge Teaching Studies.
Laguna Chaxa, Chile

Feedback