Se parte de una tripulacion que se dedica a donar medicamentos y materiales en comunidades de todo el Sur Este de Asia



1465 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    This is a rare opportunity for someone who loves working with wood and old boats. A 130-year-old sailing vessel in quite good condition that every year sails roughly 7,000 miles ranging from Thailand to the far reaches of Eastern Indonesia and back. The boats crew usually consists of 4. It's family environment and we are all volunteers. BTW: some of our best volunteers have been women.

    We are looking for long-term volunteers who are interested in classic wooden boat care. You must have manual skills such as carpentry, mechanics, or electrical, be able to cook (we take turns), amuse yourself, learn fast and be able to work without close supervision, work well with your hands, enjoy wood and rope work, not get sea sick, eat just about anything - although we do eat pretty well - be willing to learn and work hard at all hours. This is not a free vacation. We work very hard and you will be fully expected to pull your weight. But we do see some amazing places.

    We prefer people who are looking for long term volunteer opportunities, couples are welcome as long as the skill sets match our needs. You will need to provide a modest amount for your food and other expenses and your own insurance and transportation to and from the boat.

    This is a special opportunity for the right people, but also one where you need to make sure you are mature and responsible enough to fit in.

    We select people based on their skills and experience.

    This volunteer opportunity is not suitable for short term "gap year" travelers who want to hop from experience to experience. For those wanting experience toward one day owning their own boat this is a perfect opportunity.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn a lot on Vega including advanced wood work and other practical skills. But you must have the basics to build on. We cannot teach from scratch. Self reliance. Responsibility. Team work. A healthy attitude toward life are what many people have gained from this experience.

  • Ayuda


    This is one of those jobs where you have to be ready to do just about anything and open to learning even more. It is not only sailing or lounging about in the sun. Stay with us long enough and you will leave ready to care for your own boat. The biggest part of what we do is pretty mundane maintenance work, sanding, varnishing, painting, standard upkeep as part of a working traditional wooden sailing boat .

    We are looking for long term volunteers (3 months minimum) to help us maintain and sail this historical vessel. Sailing skills are a big help but most important is a will to work and learn along with an ability and a liking for manual labor. Carpentry skills and the like are always needed. For this one you must be physically fit and in good condition - no couch potatoes, handphone or FaceBook addicts please!

    We expect our volunteers to share in the food cost for their training period, which is really quite modest although we usually eat pretty well. If you fit in and are so inclined after the first 3 months your contribution diminishes .

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Own cabin while they last but you might get bumped occasionally. If so it's not for more than a few days and there are plenty of other places to roost.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will need to provide your own insurance and transportation to and from the boat and it would be a good idea to bring your own foul weather gear.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    It's a boat so a lot depends on the weather and what we are doing at the time. Usual at least 1 X 4 hour watch a day and when in port +/- 6 hours helping keep the boat up

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    US$5 per day to help host with food costs

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 823618465696