Ayuda en una granja cerca de Victoria, Columbia Británica, Canadá



167 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
  • Descripción


    A note about COVID: Due to two high risk people in the house, we have kept a small COVID bubble and expect the same from Workawayers. Ideally you're vaccinated and you must adhere to all public health guidelines including wearing masks off property whenever you're near people (including outdoors). While things are changing all the time we are patio dining and going to coffee shops with outdoor seating, and making quick trips into essential stores. Toryn works with fewer than 5 other people and Dani goes to a once-weekly class with 3 other people.

    We are not dining indoors, going to indoor social gatherings, meeting with more than one or two people for outdoor walks, strolling around malls for fun, etc. If you are not comfortable living similarly at this time, you may be happier with another family that doesn't have such high-risk people in the house. That said, if you're interested in nature there is lots of that, and plenty to see and do outside or away from crowds. If you have any questions or concerns, please just ask :).

    We were Workaway hosts in 2014–2016 and had a fabulous time hosting around 50 people from all over the world--we're still in touch with many of them to this day! The past few years saw the original farmer (Nikki) fall in love and move to Alberta, so we closed the farm and stopped accepting Workaway until 2020, when we started hosting again and managed to have 10 or so people stay with us before COVID.

    Now that things are starting to open up again a little bit, we're excited to be able to host again starting this summer. We are on 1.6 acres about 35 minutes by bus from downtown Victoria, and walking distance to a lake, ocean, and more. Since Nikki fell in love and moved, nature has done its best to reclaim the land, and we're looking for help tackling the blackberries and other weeds once and for all. There are also some small outbuildings which need to be taken apart, and a few small construction projects as well.

    We also have a small vegetable garden and may plant some more flowers for us over the winter and next year, so anyone interested in landscaping or gardening would be well-suited to coming here. We no longer have animals (besides two dogs) on the farm, so if you are looking for farm animals, we aren't your best bet.

    Our household is a multi-generational one made up of an older accomplished artist, a graphic designer (Dani--writing this description), her husband Toryn, a machinist, and a 19-year-old working towards his pilot's license.

    Due to our current accommodation situation (see below), we are looking for two people travelling together who willing to share a space (not necessarily a bed). If you are semi self contained in terms of sleeping (ie travelling in a van you want to stay in), then we would be able to host 2 additional people--in the past we've enjoyed having different group connect + some long term friendships have been formed.

    Dani has done Workaway in Iceland and Latvia and loved it, so we have some idea of this program from the participant side and are really excited to be hosts.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Between the four of us we've lived in several countries (the US, UK, Australia, Japan, all over the Caribbean on a boat) and travelled to somewhere in the neighbourhood of 50. We love chatting about life in Canada and learning about life in other countries and have always enjoyed that aspect of Workaway! We are happy to share information about life and culture in Canada, help you explore the area, and give you ideas and support in doing so!

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for general yard cleanup and deconstruction. This is a great place to have fun with a sledge hammer! We need help clearing blackberry bushes, gardening, etc--basically turning our property back into a yard from the farm cum jungle it's become since Nikki left! We expect it to be hard work but also satisfying--a lot can be accomplished in a short amount of time.

    In conjunction with that I have a (very!) small veggie garden you could help out with and there is potential for flowers and landscaping near the house, too. We always try and have some options so that you're doing something you enjoy (or at least don't hate!)

    We are close to Victoria, BC (on a bus route) and also close to walking trails and a lovely big park (Elk and Beaver Lake Park) as well as two fairly large shopping plazas and major transportation (airport and ferries). We are about 1/2 an hour away from downtown Victoria, which is an extremely cute city with lots to do and see. We are about 4 hours from skiing (or 6 from Whistler) and two from Vancouver or 3-5 from Seattle, so short trips or next stops are quite convenient.

    We enjoy walking and hiking locally and are happy to take you with us. A car might be available for use provided you have a valid license and some driving experience. We are also building a boat but later this summer may be able to go out for short trips depending on how that construction project is going. Regardless we have a dinghy and some paddle boards and time/weather allowing may be able to go on those.

    We have two dogs in the house, though they don't shed (much), and there are some cats in the neighbourhood (and an area peacock).

    We expect 4-5 hours per day of work per person five days a week. We provide one home cooked meal per day and access to a kitchen and fridge so you can also prepare snacks and smaller meals each day--ingredients provided unless you want something specific. While we can cater to a vegetarian diet, we are not vegetarians and may have meat on the side or at breakfast/lunch, so if being around meat is uncomfortable for you, we might not be a great fit. Vegan and gluten-free travellers may find it harder to find meals to suit.

    NB: Some of the photos on our site are from back during the farm days. We don't have the animals shown anymore, but wanted to give an idea of the type of farm we used to have.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Japonés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    A newer (used) travel trailer about 150 feet from the house. There is power and a small kitchenette, but no ensuite--there's a short walk up to the house to a semi-private half bath and then access to the full shared bathroom as well. The kitchen and living room are of course open to you at all times, but you can spend time in the trailer as you wish.

    This is a no smoking, no drug use household. Though we do occasionally enjoy a glass of wine or beer with dinner, we are not party animals!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is lots to see and do on Vancouver Island. We will do our best to let you know what local sights you might enjoy.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I've been location independent since 2007, so I totally get the need for good wifi, lots of coffee, and some time and space to work. I'd love a co working companion! I also like to leave the house to work, in coffee shops or--these days--outdoor patios, and would be happy to bring someone along with me on those expeditions.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of room and can run an extension cord to you.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours per day, five days per week - specific days off vary

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 158366463158