Help for our family with an old farmhouse in beautiful Bornholm, Denmark

  • Dinamarca
  • 312 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a Danish-American family who moved from Copenhagen to the Danish island of Bornholm in 2018. Here, we live in a farmhouse, in peaceful and stunning surroundings, just 2 km from the dreamy beaches of Dueodde. We are a family of four; Thomas (Danish), Shannon (American), and our happy sons Henry (born 2012) and Sylvester (born 2018). Apart from being our home, it is a well established and highly rated B&B. We enjoy welcoming international guests to our 6 rooms and 2 vacation apartments year round - though mostly in the summer months. This creates a fun and social environment. We seek help with a range of creative and practical projects to develop our own home and property, such as gardening/landscaping, building maintenance and renovations. IT IS A BIG PLUS if you have at least mid level skills with wood work, masonry, general construction, painting or gardening.

    We do our best to follow a healthy, whole foods diet. We eat limited red meats, and focus on chicken, fish and vegetarian meals. We are a non-smoking family, though you are allowed to smoke outside. We have one friendly cat named Cleo and a charming Labrador named Viggo (born December 2021).

    Some of our favorite activities include hiking in the woods, biking, beachcombing, and grilling/eating outdoors when the weather permits. We love to travel - Thomas has been to many countries with his work in the medical device industry over the years, and has ridden his motorcycle across the US several times. Shannon loves writing, the arts and entrepreneurship - she was a theatre director in the US before she got her PhD and started teaching creativity and entrepreneurship at Copenhagen Business School. Henry is super social and loves to learn, play and swim. Sylvester is an active and cuddly kid who loves to help with outdoor work.

    With young kids, a business and a big property to maintain, we keep a busy schedule, and appreciate visitors who are good at pitching in to help, for example, clean up after our dinners together and help keep things tidy. We welcome people of different ages and cultural backgrounds, and look forward to learning from you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here you will have a unique opportunity to experience the beautiful island of Bornholm, visit the stunning beaches at Dueodde, and get to know the Danish way of life in the countryside. Bornholm has recently been featured as a top travel destination in the New York Times and by the BBC. The island is known for its many entrepreneurial and artistic inhabitants, and in the past 5-10 years it has become particularly well known as a culinary hotspot, which attracts visitors from all over the world. It is also just a short (80-minute) ferry ride from southern Sweden, or an even shorter (25 minute) plane ride from Copenhagen, for weekend travel.

    We are multi-lingual; Shannon and Henry speak Danish and English, and Thomas also speaks German. We are very interested in foreign countries and cultures and have traveled in much of the world. While you are not required to work in our family business, we are happy to share our experiences with business ownership and development with you. You will learn alongside us, as we experiment with expanding our gardens and developing our property.

    If you stay with us, we will do our best to ensure you feel welcome in our home and daily life, have opportunities to meet others, and that you have a great time :-).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    In fall, winter and spring, when we are not so busy with tourists, we have more time for family, fun projects and home maintenance :-) It is an old farmhouse from 1850, with large gardens, so there are always things to improve, repair or add. Your tasks might include spackling, painting, woodwork, refinishing furniture, gardening/landscaping (including helping us develop our kitchen garden), stone and cement work in the courtyard, cutting firewood, and cleaning. If you enjoy cooking, you are also welcome to prepare meals now and then :-).

    We are happy to talk to you about your particular interests and skills, and tailor projects to you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido
    Norwegian: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    You will stay in one of our B&B guest rooms when we are not fully booked outside the summer season. It is one of the highest rated B&Bs on Bornholm, and our guest rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. There is a queen bed, chairs and table/desk, flat screen TV, wifi, etc. We have three bathrooms (with showers) that are shared by our six guest rooms.
    During the busy season, you will have your own room in the our private living space.

    You will always have access to food in our kitchen, and be invited to eat dinner together with us every evening (which we always do as a family). Breakfast is often a quick meal because we have to get the kids off to school/daycare, and lunch is usually DIY on the go, so you get to choose your favorites from the refrigerator/pantry.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Bornholm is great for biking, hiking, camping, fishing and other outdoor activities. There are miles of beaches - both the rocky and the sandy kind. The third largest forest in Denmark is also on Bornholm. Along with Denmark's third highest point, Rytterknægten. It is a staggering 162 meters!

    Our farmhouse is located in the countryside. We are 2.5 km from the ocean, 5 km from the closest town (village), Snogebæk, with a supermarket, and 10 km from Nexø, the closest larger town with approx. 3600 inhabitants. There is a bus stop nearby (5 min walk). The airport is 20 km away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You are more than welcome to work on your own projects in your spare time. However, we live in the countryside, so internet speed is 30-40 Mbps download and 15-20 Mbps upload.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Plenty of space for parking almost all types of vehicles.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 595117625636

Comentarios (15)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Little family in the peaceful countryside of Nørre Alslev, Denmark
Come and help me around my wonderfull peace of land in Thy, Denmark