Help in my wild garden and old house on the most beautiful island Fur, Denmark

  • Dinamarca
  • 41 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    I am now open to take in people for 2 weeks at a time.

    So if you are in Denmark, come be a friend of my artist family home built in 1885 and located on the beautiful island 'Fur' in Denmark, known for its fossils.

    I have come here all my life and it’s the most peaceful retreat on earth for me. My Granddad bought the house before I was born and started out already then to put his artistic skills into view here. Since then, my whole artist family have added their art footprints here and there, including me who is also an artist.

    I have a fair size land around my house with fields on 3 sides so there are plenty of wildlife around. When the weather permits it, we eat and socialise outdoors because it’s just so beautiful and tranquil here. My garden is something between a 'jungle' of brambles, fruit trees, bushes, forest and grass. I have got a lot of the 'jungle' part under control so now it's time to plant more fruit trees, bushes and other plants and eventually turn it into a permaculture retreat. And of course vegetables!

    I have two twin guest rooms which I also use for B&B in the tourist season. One is in a separate guest annexe with electricity (but no toilet) and the other in the main house. The heart of the house is the dining room which proudly gathers people on my grandparents wedding furniture from 1938. The living room with fireplace is the relaxing area.
    The cottage is old and has been modernised several times and is old fashioned and artistic in style with a magnificent view over fen and fjord. Latest project finished was a new outdoor living space with outdoor kitchen and new patios and planterboxes.

    The nearest neighbour is a couple of hundred meters away.

    The island is only 22 km2 and it is loved by holiday makers for its beautiful nature, biking trails, its fossils and a vibrant art and crafts environment. The island is also well-known for its brewery, Fur Bryghus.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    First of all you will get the experience of island life on a small island and you will get to know more about Danish culture. As I’m an international artist you may also feel that I add colour to your life as will my friends from the island!
    Life on the island gives you great opportunities to enjoy nature, go fossil hunting, to relax and it’s a great hub for discovering arts/crafts, the pleasures of taste on the local brewery and a nearby dairy and a distillery. But most importantly, you will enjoy Danish ‘hygge’ which basically means to have a cosy time which we always have in my house, during our meals and when we visit friends.
    There might even be an opportunity to learn a few art skills.

  • Ayuda


    I am Charlotte and born in Denmark. I have returned in 2021 after 28 years overseas. I am a bit behind on maintenance, especially outdoors as I am a one-woman show. I in particular need help with cutting down some trees, woodchopping and preparations for planning new trees, bushes and vegetables.

    The work will start from April on the tough works in the garden/forest.

    And I’ve got indoor maintenance and painting jobs on the list too.

    So basically I’m looking for muscle and preferably also chainsaw skills. Other great skills to include is DIY skills, gardening and cleaning.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Norwegian: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante
    Thai: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    In my 2 twin guest rooms I can accommodate either 2 couples or max 2x2 people (of same sex if single workawayers) at the same time. Obviously, I will provide all linen and towels. The rooms a small and cosy, one is in the guest annexe 10 meters from the house, the other in the main house. The guest annexe has electricity but no toilet so that business happens in the main house bathroom which has been renovated with floor heating so it’s nice and warm on a cold day!

    All meals will be served in the old style dining room. But if the weather permits it, we will of course eat outside. I generally cook healthy food and will also introduce you to some typical Danish food. If you have special food requirements/allergies we can look into that too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no public transport on the island and no taxi either so getting around is by car, bike or by foot. Bikes can be hired on the island. I will also take you around in my car if needed and it fits in the schedule.

    This is only the second time I am inviting workawayers to my Danish paradise and I am looking forward to invite you to become a new friend of the house. I am normally a pretty relaxed person, easy going and can be both a good listener yet very talkative too.

    I do expect you to help with meals or washing the dishes afterwards. And I do like cleanliness in my kitchen and bathroom but my house rules are generally relaxed.

    It's advisable to bring your own working clothes as the outdoor work may be dirty and the brambles could get stuck to you and make holes in your clothes. If you have work gloves that's even better. Wellies or heavy outdoor footwear is also recommended to bring. I have a few spare pairs but... only in a few sizes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 551557289293


Come and help me with building a tiny house and designing the garden in Ørsted, Denmark
Help with daily life in my apartment close to the center of Copenhagen, Denmark