actualizado  

Young group looking for helpers for the garden, Barcelona, Spain

  • 565 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update 21-05-2024

    We are looking for 4/6 helpers at the time in the months July, August and September.
    We prefer non smokers.
    Since we have had many volunteers already, we have noticed it’s most fun for volunteers to come and leave around the same time, to get to know each other and form a team. Also, if everyone comes at once we can introduce you to the farm all at once, establish living rules and finding out a way we’d like to share our time and space in community meetings. (around the pizza oven, with some guitar music perhaps..)

    We therefore ask you to stay at least three weeks, preferably more, and come in a certain slot:

    Slot 1: 6th of July till 6th of August
    Slot 2: 6th of Augst till 6th of September
    Slot 3: 6th of September till 6th of October

    In your title please specify when you’d like to come
    Example: “Mar wants to come 6th of July till the 6th of August”


    =========================

    Hello people!
    Here Mar, Sandra and Adrià.

    In July Mar will take care of the project since Adria and Sandra will be on parental leave with their newborn. In August and September you will be working with Adria.

    Mar is a free-style carpenter, likes to farm and do creative things, likes to dance contact improv and is a climber and hiker.. has lots of recommendations of where to go on your free days.

    Adria studied biology and always worried for wild ecosystems and biodiversity conservation, for few years I volunteered in many biological studies around the world, but then I realised that since Food Industry and Capitalism are the main cause of most of the really concerning environmental problems the only battle was against them.

    So I did remember that my family had an old farm from the grandparents who nobody was using and I did study a master on organic farming. And some introductory course to permaculture too.

    Here we are now, in a big old house, 8 hectareas and the animals; the 3 cows, the 80 hens, the 4 dogs and 3 cats...

    And by the way with some friends we created an organization and started to prospect, interview old farmers and create a seed bank and traditional trees nursery. WE HAVE HUNDREDS OF SEEDS IN THE SEEDBANK OF THIS HOUSE!!!

    The projects in the farm are :
    - 0.8 ha veggies garden which take most of the work!
    - 100 young sweet fruit trees and grapes ( fig trees, peers...)

    - 20 almond trees
    - 27 small pistachio trees
    - 60 olive trees
    - cereal crops
    - feeding/taking care of cows and hens
    - milking the cows and makig cottage cheese and iogurts (not in summer)
    - Moving fences for cows to have fresh grass
    - in september the cows will give birth !


    We are 7 people living here right now (two volunteers, 5 workers) but in the summer everyone wants to go on holidays and we need your help! There will be 3 rooms for volunteers to stay of which two with a double bed and one a shared room with 4 single beds, there is also place to camp outside and the tree house..
    In summer we start early (6 am) but have two breakfast breaks ;-) and cook lunch for each other alternately.
    Since we might be many, we ask you to actively involve in Karma yoga (doing things for others: such as cleaning the compost toilet, the kitchen or a specific area..) and ask everyone to respect each others needs (to be clean, not leave your clothes lying around, if you are a smoker only smoke in the designated area, etc.

    Volunteers work 5 days a week, 5 hours a day. If we are many we might ask to alternate the free days so that everyone can take a day off (Mar and Adria included 😉).
    We will teach you how to take care of cows, calfs, chicken, a vegetable garden in Spanish summer.. It will be fun!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Adria is very talkative and loves to explain or discuss everything related to his passions ( sustainable life, farming, nature, economy...).

    Mar likes to hike, climb and dance. And is a big fan of trees and their wood.

    we can give tips on where to go on free days, also show you the local food scenery.. (local farmers markets etc. )

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Mainly farming/gardening help which means weeding, harvesting, seedling, planting, watering...

    Sometimes I also need help with some construction projects. If you have special skills in construction (laying tiles, construction laying concrete or creating garages) please mention this in your message.

    We expect from volunteers to help in the usual domestic tasks ( sharing the cooking, washing dishes or some other usual tasks)

    In summer we use to wake up really early to avoid the the hottest hours outside

  • Idiomas hablados

    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Basque: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have three bedrooms for the volunteers and tents and a tree house.
    there are showers and a river
    we poop on a compost toilet and pee outside or on the wet toilets.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are 60 km away from BCN, 5 km from Igualada.
    Volunteers sometimes rent a car and go on camping trips together in the weekends, or hang out in the hammocks. there will be activities in Igualada and nearby villages also, since this is usual for the summer season.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    enough space!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 256456241926

Comentarios (34)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.7)
















































Non-profit permaculture project in the wild near Àger, Spain
Help with DIY and daily life in my cozy little house in Lliria, Valencia