Zulia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile, France, Italy, Portugal, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Zulia, I just retired, I am eager to meet interesting people with whom to share my knowledge of English and Spanish while I learn their language and culture. I worked teaching Spanish and English as a new language in public and private schools.

    I have experience in early childhood education. I enjoy working with children, from 3 years of age and up it is more interesting to me . It is fascinating to help them to discover their wold and to teach them a language that its not spoken at home or its not their mother tongue.

    I'm originally from Venezuela but I have been living in USA for more than half of my life. I like to socialize, go to museums, concerts, seat and relax with a cup of coffee, being around friends. Also I enjoy having my granddaughter who is 5 around to play or to go on adventures.

    I'm a member of two non-profit organizations that promotes international culture.

    The best is I feel great and with dreams to fulfill.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Some knowledge of: 

    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    Some computer knowledge,
    How to use a sawing machine,
    Crochet, knitting.
    l enjoy doing the dishes.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    64

  • Nationality

    USA Citizen

  • What else ...

    I'm an easy going person. Open minded and I guess a risk taker.
    I have been a nanny on and off for the past eight years to the same family when they have needed it (He is a Dr. and gives conferences inside and outside the country and his wife accompanied him).
    During the time I helped them I stayed in their house the necessary time, alone with the kids. I was responsible of the house and children, taking them to school and their after school activities.
    In our free time we did school projects, crafts, sawing, the girls enjoyed what we did together. Also, I introduce them to some Venezuelan food and how to cook it.
    Other enjoyable activities were
    baking, playing school, dancing, learning to dance using a hula hoop, riding bikes, going to the movies or the park and even shopping. In few occasions I went to their school to watch their plays.
    With Workaway I had the opportunity to volunteer in Italy and Turkey. I spent almost half of 2018 in these two countries helping interesting people to improve their English. This increase my desire to keep teaching in a different atmosphere and experiencing other cultures as a volunteer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Mold

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

November 2017 International Festival
Rainy day. Nanny (me) arrived as Mary Poppins
I'm in the center. Teachers performed for parents to close the Hispanic Heritage Program.
September 2017
School activity.
Summer 2017
I'm the one on the right. December 2017
Noviembre 2017

Feedback