Aidan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Monaco, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 31/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    5

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I joined workaway a couple of years ago and have travelled to 4 different workaway hosts in 2017 and I've been registered with helpx since 2013. I have done 4 helpx trips, 2 in the UK and 2 in southern France and i really enjoyed them all. I have excellent references from all of them (except Budapest....long story!) and enjoyed all of them in different ways and for different reasons.
    I've worked most of my life outdoors and am lucky to be fit and healthy.
    I have been a gardener for 28 years and I'm very good at DIY and generally good at most things around the house and garden.
    I love Spain, France, Greece, Italy, Hungary..... basically anywhere that the sun shines and I'm hoping to live in one of these countries as soon as i can.
    My sense of humour has got me through some tough times over the years and I think of myself as a positive, forward looking person who doesn't judge others but instead can learn from those I meet along the way.
    I'm a happy man in a happy place and looking forward to what the future holds !
    Kind regards, Aidan 😊
    PS With regards to my low feedback rating from Gabi in Budapest I'd be more than happy to provide a more accurate picture of Gabi's true situation at the time of my visit and the reasons for my unplanned early departure which left me over €300 out of pocket in unplanned hotel bills and return flights !
    In August 2017 when I arrived, Gabi's new 'property' had no electricity or hot water. No WiFi or any way to charge my phone. The only water was a rainwater tank which, in a dry hot Hungarian summer was 10% full. Power was provided by a 12volt car battery connected to a light bulb in the kitchen.....and I'm not even exaggerating ! 36 hours was long enough and I spent 6 of those hours chopping and stacking logs in 40°. Can't say I didn't give it my best 😊
    I understand things are a bit more organized, less misleading and more transparent now !

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening, construction in wood and stone, DIY, painting, driving, cooking, being happy !

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    54

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have no children or dependants in the UK and am self-employed so I can take time off work to spend time in France & Spain with a view to hopefully making a permanent move to one or the other 😀.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

I'm not rolling a cigarette, I'm just about to give the dog a biscuit !

Feedback