Yvette & Raquelle

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 20/04/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    We are sisters traveling from North Carolina. I (Raquelle) just graduated from UNC and my sister (Yvette) graduated from NC State and then worked as a Fulbright teacher in Thailand. We are exploring Australia, New Zealand, Japan and S Korea for 6 months! We are looking for any sort of Workaway experience and excited to meet new people and experience new cultures! We have Workaway-ed in Taiwan, Vietnam, Thailand, and Australia doing household work, hostel cleaning, and other various tasks.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    We both have worked at our parents accounting firm since high school. We have painted all the walls in our house, can cook, garden, clean/do housework, use computers/type well, use Excel and QuickBooks.
    Raquelle - Majored in Business Administration, minored in Spanish for the Professions and wants to be an accountant. During college, worked as a bookkeeper, worked at a restaurant as a hostess, and made coffee drinks at a cafe. Spent a month in Colombia and can speak intermediate Spanish.
    Yvette - Majored in Secondary English Education and was a Resident Adviser for 2 years. Taught English for a year in Thailand, worked at elephant sanctuary in Thailand, retail shop, and a security guard. Can speak conversational Thai and is learning Japanese.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent

  • Age

    25 & 23

  • What else ...

    We love playing volleyball, basketball, tennis, and mini golf. We love all board games (especially Scrabble!). Interests include: hiking, cooking, reading, fishing, boating, contra dancing, zumba, yoga, and biking.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Yvette in Si Satchanalai.
Raquelle with her school mascot at a basketball game.
Raquelle teaching during Yvette's classes in Thailand.
Yvette and Raquelle in temple in Bangkok.
Yvette and Raquelle with Yvette's Prathom 4 class in Thailand.
Yvette cooking som tam in a cooking class in Thailand.
Raquelle with elephant in Chiang Mai.
Raquelle and friends in Cartagena, Colombia, where she took Spanish class for a month.
Yvette in front of poster of herself in her Thai school.
Raquelle at Google's Headquarters in London, during a 6 week study abroad trip.

Feedback