Xuan

From: China

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/06/2017 - 03/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    233

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello workaway hosts:) :)
    Thanks for reading my profile. I am Xuan from Shanghai, China. I grew up in shanghai, had my bachelor degree then went to Europe studying at business school for my master degree. After having studied and lived in Europe for 5 years (4 years in France&1 year in Germany), I went back home. Over the past 6 years, I have been working for different international companies in cosmetics and wine on PR/Marketing, global sourcing and admin.Department. I am a hard worker, very organized and responsible. I see myself as an open-minded, reliable, honest, easy-going and fun person. I enjoy new challenges/adventures and can easily adapt to a new environment/workplace.

    3 years ago in October, I quitted my job for this RTW trip. It was not an impulsive but hard decision and I am so glad I did it. I have never felt myself so complete and happy. I have met and made loads of like-minded friends from all over the world, learned a lot of new skills, found some new passions like surfing, shared so much love and laugh with people…the most important thing is that i have developped so much myself spiritually, mentally and physically.

    I have done more than 20 volunteering jobs in different countries while traveling in South East Asia/Australia/New Zealand/USA/Canada/Mexico/Costa Rica/Panama/Columbia in the last 34 months:
     Malaysia: 20 days in 2 different guest house for housekeeping/reception/bar tender
     Laos: 3 wks in a hotel working at café and a pony farm
     India: 2 wks in a resort helping at kitchen
     Sri Lanka: 2 wks in a resort for housekeeping;
    3 wks in a guest house for housekeeping/reception
    4 wks in a beach surfing hostel as volunteer manager for reception/reservation management/events organization/volunteer team management etc.
     Indonesia: 1 wk at a local family as Chinese tutor
     Australia: 2 months in 3 different hostels for housekeeping
     Canada: 2 months in a ranch for housekeeping/customer service/some help at barn
    Mexico: 3 wks at a hostel as receptionist in cabo
    2 months at a resort as a restaurant waitress
    2 months at 2 different hostel as receptionist
    USA: 1 month at a hostel for housekeeping/event
    Mexico: 4 wks at a hostel as receptionist
    Canada: 3 wks at a resort for customer service/housekeeping
    Mexico: 4 wks at a hostel as receptionist
    Costa rica: 3 wks at a jungle resort
    Panama: 2 wks at a B&B
    Costa Rica: 3 wks at a hostel for reception
    Panama: 4wks at 2 hostals as receptionist
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Next is YOUR PLACE ;)

    Thanks to these experiences, I have developed a good sense of customer service and am a good team player ;)
    As to my personal interests, hmm, I like eating (big foodie!) but also can cook some simple Chinese and western food (like Italian pasta). I love nature and enjoy outdoor activities (snorkelling, kayaking, SUP, surfing, hiking, bicycling etc.). I practise Yoga on a daily basis.

    I am so eager and thirsty for new experiences and new things to learn. Hope to meet you! A Chinese quote to share: “Isn't it pleasant to have friends coming from distant quarters?”

    Cheers

    Xuan

  • Type of help

    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I speak Chinese (mother tongue), French (second language) and English (second language) and am learning Spanish (for 1.5 years). I am sure my language skills can be a contribution to any host. My previous working experiences also allow me develop good communication and organization skills, which I think are very important for any position.

    Besides, I am a quick learner and adaptable to various scenarios

  • Languages spoken

    Chinese, french(je suis francophone), english(fluent) and spanish beginner

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Chinese

  • What else ...

    I am a chill but very organized and responsible person. A chilling and relaxing environment with lots of respect, trust and love will be my ideal place to stay for a while as my home away from home:) :)

    I am a Buddhism believer :) I don't drink, either smoke and don't do any drugs. I like healty food.

    BTW i am not your stereo typed chinese gal lol ;) ;)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      NO

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegetarian. but i eat fish and eggs

Photos

Fishing on Indian Ocean

Feedback