Earl & Earl

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda, Bolivia, Cayman Islands, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/01/2019 - 09/03/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I worked as a Michigan State Park Naturalist and that job evolved into exhibit design. I designed the state's visitor centers in parks and fisheries before I retired in 2010. I am an excellent gardener, love all things about nature and animals, love projects around the house, carpentry, painting, fix-it, and I love to travel! Both my wife, Deborah, and I are proficient with computers. My wife is administrator of 5 Facebook Fan Pages and used to have her own website. Deborah is licensed for 200 hr. Yoga Instruction, she has been a swimming instructor, loves to sew and crochet, and is currently tutoring English, online to students from 42 countries. Deborah worked in the UAE for 5 years as a school principal and I lived there the last three. We traveled from there to 13 countries during the holidays. We returned in July, 2013 and now we are seeking new adventures. In 2014, we enjoyed our first WorkAway experience in Santa Cruz, Chile helping out at a new villa and the host's Italian restaurant, in the Chilean vineyards. In 2015, we worked in a Hostel/B&B in the Sacred Valley of Peru; helped with many improvement projects and helped host many groups from the USA. My wife studied Spanish for 6 yrs. but is rusty, but improving. She also speaks some Arabic and French. In 2016, we were on WorkAway for 5-6 weeks on a New Zealand farm, helping with childcare and many home improvement carpentry projects, including remodeling her laundry room and making a shoe cubby (see Host reviews) In 2017, we lived with a couple on St. Thomas, Virgin islands. where we helped out and initiated many many projects ranging from sewing new lounge cushions (Deborah) to me creating a set of hardwood bar stools from salvaged pallet lumber. 2018 we lived with a wonderful family outside of Brisbane, Australia - childcare, sewing projects, home maintenance; re-built our host a new laundry room and updated their entire kitchen. In 2019, we lived with a couple in Tasmania, AU and helped with their B&B, assisting with guest meal prep, household duties, and special projects around the home, garden and grounds. Deborah sewed an entire set of patio chair cushions with a matching table runner. We are always planning the next adventure.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Basic carpentry, Fix-it projects around the house, gardening, landscaping, child care, teaching/tutoring, leading groups in nature talks, animal care, computer work, Photoshop & graphic arts, photography, social networking, jewelry making, sewing, crocheting, theatre/dance experience, art projects, swim instruction, yoga instruction (registered with Yoga Alliance 200 hrs.), and many other skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    69 & 69

  • Nationality

    United States of America

  • What else ...

    We have been married over 40 years and are very out-going, creative, and friendly. We easily strike up conversations with strangers and love to meet new people. We are both considered leaders and are responsible for many projects of which we are very proud. We have three wonderful, grown children. We take the initiative to get things done and don't wait to be told. We are very "young at heart" and have lots of energy! We are not afraid of work and we take pride in our accomplishments. We love new challenges!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Hornets, & my wife is allergic to ragweed and latex.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, we are adventurous eaters!

Photos

Earl working in a garden in Chile.

Feedback