Will & Giulia

From: United Kingdom & Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2018 - 31/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    425

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Previous Workaway experience:
    May - June 2015: Husky Dog Sled company in the town of Jokkmokk, Swedish Lapland.
    July - August 2015: Sustainable agricultural land project in Bali, Indonesia.
    July - August 2016: Horse farm in Sauðárkrókur, Iceland.
    July 2018: Renovating a house in Bodø, Norway.

    Hi there! Welcome to our profile. We are a British and Italian couple who met and are currently living in Amsterdam, looking to travel the world and meet new people. We hope you will be one of them!
    I (Will) originally joined Workaway three years ago and have not looked back since. Some of my best travelling memories and most interesting people I have met have been through Workaway and I hope to make some more. Having gotten tired of hearing my stories of great experiences, Giulia decided to join as well and make her own memories so we made a couple account. Now a little about us....

    About Will:
    I grew up in the UK in the town of Nottingham (yes Robin Hood) and have moved around frequently for studying and family, including: Bristol, Brighton (where my family is now based) and now currently Amsterdam in the Netherlands.
    Since the age of 18 I have been travelling to various parts of the world being involved with projects at a local level. This has included working with an NGO in Bali on agriculture, to the arctic circle working in a Swedish Lapland with a Husky dogsled company. I love the outdoors and struggle to be inside for too long, feeling most comfortable when I am looking at a nice hill or mountain to climb (when I was 18, I climbed Mt. Tarija in Bolivia, South America which was 5240m!). Besides this, my hobbies include: Swimming, Rock Climbing, Hiking and Cycling and my favourite animal is dogs (the bigger and more energetic the better!). I don't mind getting dirty and I am physically quite strong and fit, so I am able to undertake strenuous tasks if needs be. I have also completed a TEFL (Teach English as a Foreign Language ) course so I am happy to help with English teaching also.

    Most interesting thing I have done: I hitchhiked from Bristol to Paris with a friend to attend the COP21 Paris agreement talks.

    About Giulia:
    I grew up in northern Italy, on the shores of a big lake at the base of the Alps. I have later lived in a number of Italian cities (Milan, Bologna, Venice) and I am now based in Amsterdam to finish my university studies. Growing up in the Alps has left me with an attachment to nature and an extreme love for the outdoors. I enjoy every type of outdoor activities (bird watching, rock climbing, snowboarding...just to name a few) and I try to escape the city as frequently as possible.
    From kayaking in the Hungarian forest to surfing in the Atlantic Ocean and hiking above the Arctic Circle, over the past years I have had a number of unforgettable travel experiences and I can’t wait for the new ones to come. One of my greatest strengths is adaptability, as I easily adapt and feel comfortable in every sort of environment, alone as well as in a big company.
    My biggest love is surely animals, and I had plenty of experiences taking care of them: I have helped in alpine pastures and volunteered at dog shelters, and I have been working as dog sitter alongside my studies.
    I am also an experienced photographer since many years, so I could happily help you by taking professional pictures of your activity!

    Most interesting thing I have done: I have seen the Northern Lights dancing in the sky of Lofoten Islands in Norway.

    Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and we hope to hear from you!

    Will and Giulia

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Physically Strong, Computer Skills, Childcare, Animal Care, Lifeguarding, Painting, House Maintenance, Cooking, Gardening, Photography

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • Nationality

    British & Italian

  • What else ...

    Thank you for reading our profile and please feel free to ask about any skills and interests we have (or forgotten to) mention!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Peak of Mt. Tarija in Bolivia, 5240m! (2013)
Sweden with Huskeys! (2015)
Watching the sunset in Bali (2015)
Chilling with a husky in Sweden
Chilling in a geothermal pool in beautiful Iceland (2016)
Climbed a graffiti container in Amsterdam north (2018)
After a hike on the Italian Alps (2018)
Overlooking Kvalvika beach in Lofoten, Norway (2016)
Relaxing after a hike in the Italian Alps (2017)
Hiking in the alps (2017)

Feedback