Wilke

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 15/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Wilke Strydom. I stayed on a farm in the Karoo with my family, and now its time to spread my wings! People describe me as hardworking, loyal and passionate.
    I want to visit farms all around the country to see how other people farm and to gain more experience. Up to date, I visited a pecan nut, maize and wheat farm, a goat and sheep Karoo farm, and a sheep farm in the Vrystaat. I definitely learned a lot and can't wait to learn new things!
    I'm really passionate about caring for our planet, living sustainable and to produce healthy food for this hungry world of ours. I also love animals and plants. I also took a permaculture design course a few years ago.
    I'm new to this website but we had several work-awayers staying on our farm in the past.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I can milk cows and goats, make cream cheese, make soap, ride tractor, motorbike, quadbike, and a bakkie (I don't have a drivers license yet though), ride horses, dose and inject sheep, keep track of animal, grow vegetables, prune trees, and I can bottle fruit.

    I'm also a quick thinker, responsible, thorough and a hard worker. I'm not scared to get dirty and work with my hands.

  • Languages spoken

    English and Afrikaans

  • Age

    18

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Lactose and Gluten Intolerant

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback