whileforth

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Portugal - from Jul 2020 until Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hullo, I'm Chris :)

    I'm an Englishman who, for his sanity, has recently escaped to Portugal, where I hope to stay a little while—I've rented a little tent near the beach near Olhão, and I'm having a lovely time exploring this enchanted locale. But I'd like to see other places in the Algarve, or new regions in Portugal.

    I have done quite a few Workaway-style things and I especially like to work in farming, gardening, forest maintenance, fruit-harvesting, goat-ranching and similar things!

    In the past, I was a teacher, and have taught a lot of English abroad. My hope now (for the year 2022) is to complete a few really ambitious tech projects!

    But for the meantime, I'm here on Workaway, with a couple of different ideas in mind:

    • Firstly, I've been improving my programming and my tech skills during downtime during the pandemic. I'd LOVE to find a Workaway where I can use them, and learn new things. It's not absolutely necessary, though!

    • Secondly, I feel working outdoors would be good for my health. I was working in a factory back in England, doing 12 hour night shifts, but I don't think it was good for me at all. So if there's any good outdoor work to be done (and good food, and good company, ideally!) I feel it would help to "reset" my levels of physical strength and mental health.

    • Thirdly, it's getting kind of late in December and I'd love to be somewhere where I can experience a traditional Portuguese Christmas! I don't want to be cooking fish and chips for myself on Christmas Eve—please help!

    It's an interesting time for me, as I'm unvaccinated and don't have access to the EU Digital Certificate, so I can't easily visit hotels or restaurants. I'm living out of the loop, in a parallel society! But thanks to the wonderful people around me, it hasn't been a problem, so far.

    I know everybody has their own opinion on current events—I take COVID-19 seriously, but it doesn't make scientific sense to be vaccinated for the Alpha variant when the Omicron variant is already here. We should move on to superior second-generation vaccines. Well, anyway! We can share our opinions about it, if you'd like, or not at all, if you'd prefer. I'm trying to boost my natural resistance, and I hardly go anywhere around people to catch the virus, anyway. But I do take it seriously. Covid tests are cheap in Portugal, and I'd gladly take one before setting out anywhere, and at the door of anywhere I'm planning to stay (as per official government recommendations).

  • Interests

    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've written quite a lot in the above section, so I'll try and stick to bullet-points here!

    • Organic farm work—planting and harvesting fruit and vegetables, no-dig and regenerative agriculture putting up fences, raising goats and chickens, butchering animals, and so on.
    • Anything related to botany and gardening, I love it.
    • Love cooking, will make you Indian curries, Polish pierogi, English fish and chips, or (ideally!) healthy natural food of any persuasion.
    • Have made my own products and sold them at local food markets (see picture above!)
    • Programming—web, sysadmin, security, graphics, gamedev, and others.
    • Lots of experience in teaching English and other foreign languages—all ages and all levels.
    • Can help with building and carpentry and maintenance and physical labour and things, but I must highlight that I'm looking to improve my skills, and might take a little patience from you. I can't build a house from scratch for you! But I'd like to learn how.

    Okay, well I feel there are a lot of Workawayers with more to offer than I have, but I can only be honest. You can see what kind of person I am, and if you'd like to help me add to that short list, please get in touch.

    Thanks!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate
    Welsh: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Estonian: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Indonesian: Beginner
    Cornish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Ukrainian: Beginner
    Vietnamese: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback