Wendy

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    United Kingdom
    View all
  • Description

    Hello Host Family,

    My name is Wendy and I am a 55 year old Australian. My family live in Brisbane (Australia). My eldest daughter is married with two boys (a 3 year old and a 4 month old). My younger daughter currently plays professional Volleyball in Romania.

    I am currently working for a UK Care organisation as a live-in Carer. I have been a live-in Carer for the last three years and have worked mainly with elderly people in their homes around southern England. I am required to assist with medication, provide personal care and organization of the client’s day to day life, as well as providing them with companionship and support.

    Prior to doing care work, my background has primarily been in office administration. I also have experience in retail and hospitality. I am passionate about travelling and this is the reason for my move to the UK in 2011.

    I am open to the various opportunities that may be available and am interested in participating in a different lifestyle.

    I’m excited at the prospect of learning some of the local language and culture, particularly local cuisine and becoming skilled at cooking local food. Meeting a variety of different people is something I enjoy and think I would add value working at retreats, convention centres or something similar.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    In 2001/2, I volunteered as a Therapy Assistant for crippled children. Skills included administration, preparation and participation of events and catering for disabled children including art, craft, cooking, outings and games. I also provided assistance to the physiotherapist with hydrotherapy and exercise programs of disabled children. This volunteer position led to full time employment for the next three years.

    Office skills General administration and office management including
    typing and computer skills
    Retail Customer service, merchandising, cash handling, wrapping gift
    boxes
    Hospitality Turndown service (in a five star environment) and staff training
    Life skills Raising a family, organising home-life, being adaptable when
    travelling, maintaining relationships, time management,
    flexibility.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    62

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    For me, travel is all about the unforgettable feelings and memories you bring back with you. Experiencing and exploring new destinations, visiting family and meeting new people.

    Some of my favourite experiences include: Snorkelling in Iceland in winter, seeing the Northern Lights, being invited into a private home of someone who lovingly restored their Tudor home, camping on an Australian tropical island and sleeping in a hammock.

    I am reliable, trustworthy, and self-motivated. I am capable of adapting to any situation. I take pride and care in all that I do.

    Thank you Hosts, for taking the time and effort in reading all about me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Sulphur medication and Penicillin medication

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback

Friends

Feedback