Wei Mei

  • Spain
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Mexico - from Nov 2021 until May 2022
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Mei, I come from Malaysia. I am a 36-year-old woman who is fond of traveling. I have a goal to leave my footprints all over the world throughout the span of my life. So far, I had been to 37 countries but haven't had the chance to visit North America as yet.

    My traveling lifestyle had been interrupted for the first time in the past decade due to global lockdown. Having endured travel bug bite for more than two years, I just couldn't stand it any longer. Now that I am fully vaccinated with two doses of Pfizer, I'm all set to hit the road again. This time, I have decided to explore Mexico, Canada and US for 6 months each.

    I prefer to travel slowly, taking time to discover the destination and let the place surprises me. When I travel, I like to meet and make friends with the locals and to learn about their culture and lifestyle. Also, I love food. I'm eager to try all kinds of local cuisine and typical food from the area where I travel.

    About myself, I would say I am a bit shy at the first sight, but friendly otherwise. In fact, I love to share experiences and stories with others. I enjoy learning about the life experiences of others, about their country, their culture, their language, their life, their travel experience, about everything, and I enjoy sharing mine.

    Besides travelling, I also enjoy reading, listening to music, watching nice movies, and taking a walk in the nature. I love nature and always want to be near the nature. Other than that, I also have a great passion for language. I am interested in learning different languages as I believe language is the bridge that connects people. Very often, language is also reflecting the history and culture of a nation.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Languages
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience working as waitress in restaurants and as sales assistant in a boutique. I usually take care of the house chores at home and thus have no problem with normal housework. I have had 7 fantastic workaway experiences to this day: 5 in France and 2 in Japan. These include a month in an organic farm where I learnt to take care of the animals, grow and harvest vegetables, milk the goats, make goat cheese and bread as well as renovate farm house. I am very patient in taking care of children and elderly people. I had been a babysitter for a 2-year-old little girl through workaway. From my another workaway experience, I helped the host family to take care of their 5 children while helping out with the housework. Other than that, I had also volunteered for gardening, renovation, maintaining hostel/airbnb, and upkeeping a Buddhist temple in Japan. Also, through my formal education, I had gained certain level of knowledge in tourism field as well as sustainability concept. As I had worked as a teacher before, I have teaching skill and the ability to work with both young and adult learners.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Malaysian

  • What else ...

    I am interested in social and community works, youth and cultural exchange projects as well as charity works. If there is a chance for participation in these kinds of project, I would volunteer myself.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback