• United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    My next destination:

    View all
  • Description

    Adventures and people have always been a part of my life. During my many travels of the world, I have found the most interesting people and learned much about traditions, food, and lifestyle. My travels include Kenya, Egypt, Turkey,China, Russia, UK, Montenegro, Slovenia, Italy, France, Greece and the Greek Islands, Cyprus, Eastern Europe and most of the rest of the European countries.
    When visiting other countries, I travel basic and without a lot of frills. It is my belief that by traveling this way and getting to know the people of the country I am in, I am truly a traveler.
    I am a mother of two, a grandmother of five and a widow living alone in my small villa in Boca Raton, Florida, USA.
    I retired from AT&T after 23 years of working in various positions but retired as a Product Manager working out of our New Jersey Headquarters.
    My younger years of being raised on an 84 acre farm in Texas, USA, formed the person I am now. The farm had no electricity or running water. Very basic. We raised cows, pigs, chickens and turkeys. Our crops were corn, cotton, maize, wheat and oats. We harvested our own crops and I along with 5 siblings were expected to work beside our parents whether it was pulling cotton, working in the 2 acre garden, baling hay, picking corn......the jobs were endless and tiring but I learned so much about how the world works from just being a farm girl.
    I have long left the farm behind but the farm has never left me as I use skills I learned many years ago to navigate the modern world we live in today. I still have the love of plants and gardening and currently have tomatoes, peppers, herbs, and squash growing in pots on my small patio. The grounds around my villa is filled with flowers, avocado trees, papaya and I am growing lemon, mango, moringa, and grapefruit trees. I even have a couple of young banana trees and some coconut palms.
    Along with the love of plants, naturally comes the love of food and cooking. Cooking is another passion of mine as is learning new ways to prepare fresh foods and the introduction of new foods and cheeses from the country I am visiting.
    Yes, I know, my years of adventure and life might make one think I am too ancient to be part of Workaway but, it seems I have been blessed with unbound energy and a great zest for life in addition to good health. My children and grandchildren would be the first to tell you that I have more energy than they do. I am a very active woman without issues when it comes to health and ability.
    As you can see from my narrative above, my skills are numerous. Childcare..gardening..artist..minor building sitting..teaching english...serious kitchen skills....I can meet the challenge.
    I hope you consider me when searching for a worker in the Workaway Program. You will not be disappointed.

  • Interests

    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking, kitchen duties, market shopping, gardening, people person, english teacher, childcare, dog sitter, minor knowledge of a screwdriver and hammer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age


  • Nationality

    US Citizen

  • What else ...

    I love being around people and whether it be entertaining or working, I am always laughing and having fun. I am a positive person and can always find the best side of a situation. I am full of energy and curiosity which allows for some interesting adventures.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements