Veronica

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling


    ecological restoration, organic gardening, sustainable infrastructure / building projects

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Veronica - an architect-turned-forester living in Philadelphia, PA, USA. I'm prone to curiosity about all manner of things and find great satisfaction exploring their overlaps and parallels - for instance, how the way we build interacts with our ability to live in an ecologically sensitive way. For this reason among others, I am inspired by the variety of sustainable relationships with land and living so many of the hosts on Workaway manifest. I would love to contribute and learn in the realm(s) of ecological restoration, organic agriculture and/or sustainable construction & design. I am also glad to help with gardening, cooking, animal care, etc.

    I've had one wonderful experience with work exchange here in Pennsylvania, and have also lived with families in Hungary and Denmark, hosted Couchsurfers here in Philly, lived in communal housing for the past five years, and traveled to volunteer with disaster-relief building restoration a few times.

    All in all, I'd like to help in efforts to share skills and resources as equitably as possible, improve our collective psychological livelihood, and spend an inordinate amount of time outdoors.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Forestry / Ecology - knowledge of Mid-Atlantic native species, principles of ecological restoration and urban ecology, experience propagating, tending and planting trees and shrubs
    Design / Planning of Buildings and Plantings (experience with stormwater management, native species, sustainable building techniques, interior design / art installations) ***please note i am not licensed as an architect or landscape architect! ***
    Carpentry, Furniture Design / Construction (designed and installed built-in kitchen shelving, a bookcase, dining tables, countertops, learned a lot from my father who does restoration carpentry)
    Gardening
    Cooking
    Sewing, Handcrafting & Bookbinding

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Intermediate

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    Love a good game, a good woods wander and anything musical.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback