vivalalexy

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan, South Korea

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/01/2019 - 01/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    636

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there!
    I was born and raised in the small city of Rochester, NY, home of Kodak film. I grew up dancing ballet, for a city of its size, Rochester has some excellent cultural offerings! However, as I got older my patience for the long winters diminished, and I began exploring.

    In September of 2015, I set out on a road trip of the US in order to escape the impending Northeastern cold. My partner at the time and I slept many nights in the back of my Prius, parked at truck stops as we made our way through 37 states. We returned to Rochester in March of 2016.

    In January of 2017, we moved somewhere I had always dreamed of, sunny California! I had visited and knew I loved it there, but actually moving was a whole different animal. Finding a job and an apartment was tougher than I had imagined, but once I settled in, I met some of the most inspiring people in the world and really found my rhythm.

    In April of 2018, my partner and I moved back to Rochester, each going our separate ways. I always viewed it as a stopping over point to plot my next step, and plot I have! On January 4th I leave on a 5 month solo tour of Asia, hitting up Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and South Korea. I have gone on solo trips to NYC, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Sweden before, but nothing nearly this involved, so I am both incredibly excited, and a bit nervous!

    Living so close to the border, I have spent quite a bit of time in Canada, and have also visited Spain, England, France, the Netherlands, and Iceland. I hope to share a smile with you soon!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    By trade I am a hostess, server, and bartender, and I am passionate about working in hospitality. I love the constant opportunities it gives me to interact with new people, and it is meaningful to me to make someone's experience brighter. In my spare time I love to hip-hop dance, spend time with loved ones, cook, bake, read books on spirituality, hike, go for walks, and practice yoga. I also perform as a drag king at local venues, which is a ton of fun!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Some Spanish

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback