Viola

From: Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Viola,
    A 25-year old volunteer (housekeeper, painter, graphic designer, baby sitter, psychologist, all around helper... you name it!), on a workaway journey on my own to see the world.

    A little bit of my background: I am a country girl, I grew up on my dad's organic farm in the North West of Finland. Life in the farm taught me from very young age the importance of work and nature. It's not always easy, it's not always clean. Later I studied visual arts and psychology, and my profession in Finland is psychologist.

    I am an educated, responsable and a flexible workawayer and everything I do I am passionate about. I appreciate mutual respect and open communication, workaway is a beautiful international community, so let's do our best to keep it that way. I want to be a positive influence with my skills as a volunteer.

    I am now looking to volunteer especially in places, that among other work they have, offer a possibility to do something artistic. My dream is to leave a trail of my work in different parts of the world, so if you have been wishing for a beautiful mural or a painting, here I am! I travel with my own tools for smaller paintjobs: brushes, and small acrylic paints. If you are willing to teach me something new (cooking, dancing, book keeping, spearfishing whatever!), I will be your friend forever.

    Lastly, I am a calm personality who gets happy easily. I love swimming, yoga, music, dance, art and history. The most important things to me in my life are my health and relationships.

    Below you can read more of my experience and skills, and see if they would be a good match for your project.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Recycling and picking up trash:
    My first ever volunteer experience was to volunteer for a Finnish music festival Ilosaarirock, my job was to make sure the festival doesn't harm the environment, so our team picked up every single thing that didn't belong to mother nature (yup, every single cigarette butt included, you can guess that I am not a smoker)

    Planting trees:
    My first summer job ever from ages 14 to 21 was that every summer I planted trees for the Finnish forest company. I planted hundreds of trees every day. It was physically extremely hard work to walk and carry the plants on our backs in the wilderness, have lunch breaks there, but I really loved it exactly because of the environment and our amazing hardworking and humorous team. This work taught me so much about teamwork in extreme conditions.

    Baby sitting and arts and crafts with kids
    Been babysitting my baby cousins every now and then. I also did a month of internship in a school for kids with need of special education. I planned and executed art lessons for kids from ages 6 to 15. Obviously it was also very challenging to plan lessons that would be as engaging as possible to everyone regardless of their challenges, so I learned a lot of that responsibility.

    Housekeeping and cleaning:
    I worked as housekeeper in 2015 and 2016. I have been taking care and cleaning everything from private homes to schools and swimming halls. I know how to leave any place perfectly clean, and I know how to do this most time effectively. To demonstrate: The swimming hall I worked in was officially the cleanest one in Finland.

    Painting and Murals:
    I love realistic, nature inspired paintings, the bigger the better, check my photos. I can also do simple paintwork around the house.

    Graphic Design, Reporting, and Photography :
    I have designed whole publishments for my student organizations for several years now. I can make posters, flyers, advertisements and simple websites as well. Check an example of a publication I designed (illustrations not by me): https://issuu.com/arsyke/docs/arsyke_2_2015_issuu

    Psychological professional experience:
    Psychological interviews, short interventions, Acceptance and Commitment therapy, mindfulness. I have worked with adults with serious mental conditions, such as schizophrenia, acute psychosis, depression and anxiety, in psychiatric hospital in Finland. I have Bachelor's in Psychology and I am currently finishing my Master's in Psychology. I have worked at my university as a wellness coach for students with depression, anxiety and stress. Interested in positive and humanistic psychology.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Finnish and Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Finnish

  • What else ...

    "The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be felt with the heart." - Helen Keller

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Mural for Vocational College Lappia in Tornio Finland
Some funny Buddhas for interior
Cats painting
Water work
A small shelf carpentry by me
Promo stickers designed and made by me for the best food bike in Sámara Costa Rica. She rocks!!
Art postcard project in work! Surfboard designed and painted by me.
Acrylic on driftwood, a Costa Rican gift for a friend
Recycled bins with macrame details made from marine debris @Adoptacoastline, Antigua.
One Love one water. Macrame details in the making. Recycled bins made of plastic bottles and marine debris @Adoptacoastline.
Bins by @Adoptacoastline
Macrame bracelets made by me for @Adoptacoastline. Made from nets that were cut off of turtles

Feedback