Victoria

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 01/07/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hei alle,
    I come from Alberta, Canada and have been volunteering on various farms in Norway since February 2019. I am now looking for long term work and to integrate into Norway more into the year. So far I have gotten to learn about many things including concepts in permaculture, gardening, caring for cows and sheep, sewing, cooking with plants from the forest, lambing, catering, dog training, sledding, and more.
    Since my first farmstay it has been quite an adaptation in lifestyle but I have been to 5 farms now and can't see life any other way. All of these experiences have brought me so many rewards mentally and physically.
    I am a quiet and introverted person, not too social at first but I do understand humor very well and can get very excited over small things in life. That being said I am always keen, hard-working considerate and receptive to how others feel. I am a curious wanderer - Happy to be doing anything and everything, everywhere.
    I have both a Norwegian and Canadian citizenship but I do not speak much Norwegian. I hope I can re-learn it again alongside all the skills related to self-sustainable living.
    Thanks for reading!
    P.S:
    I used to have a dog daycare from August 2018 to Jan 2019 so you can see more pictures and information about me through this link
    https://www.rover.com/members/victoria-m-plenty-of-love-and-attention/

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening such as seeding, planting and weeding
    Caring for cows, sheep, rabbits, dogs
    Making plant beds and poles
    Making fences
    Some sewing
    Light forestry
    Sourdough
    Lambing
    Cooking
    Baking
    Haying
    Catering
    Manual labor
    Herbalism
    Soap making
    Aromatherapy
    Ull karding (learning)
    Joking
    Making coffee
    Making things coselig
    Hospitality
    Customer service

  • Languages spoken

    English, little Norwegian and Spanish

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Canadian-Norwegian

  • What else ...

    My main goal is to develop enough skills to manage my own farm one day. I try to make each day as fulfilling as possible because it is a very rewarding feeling to see the results of your own hard work. I think people who think the same way can also enjoy free time much better.
    I like to learn new card games, play word games, bake, and cook in my free time. I joke and laugh a lot but I would like to think it brings positivity to difficult situations. I really like coffee, rock music, bread, kvikklunsj, and ris og havre grøt. I studied computer science in 2014 and 15 but it was not a rewarding path for me.
    I hope to to concentrate more on cultivation, landscaping, woodwork, knitting/weaving and other forms of craftsmanship. I would really like to help with building a drivvhus and hytta as well. 🏡

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback