Ness & Hansen

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/01/2019 - 07/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Aloha! We're Ness and Hansen, two friends living in Hawai'i who would love to see the world. We bought a one-way ticket to New Zealand and would love to learn more about our sister Polynesian islands!

    Ness: I'm studying for a degree in marine biochemistry residing in Kailua, Hawai'i! When I am traveling, I am usually participating in academic research or teaching organic chemistry and writing. I am a certified PADI Divemaster and Fii Freediver, so I love being on the water and spending time on boats. As a Divemaster, I also have a lot of experience working with tourists / the service industry. I enjoy gardening - at home, we grow lettuce, spinach, chives, mint, rosemary, and basil! In my free time, I am an avid reader of science fiction. I am a very active person and enjoy exploring nature and learning more about other cultures.

    Hansen: I'm a recent business graduate from Hawai'i Pacific University looking to see the world! My degree has given me a number of handy skills, so I'm also well-versed in computer and technology-related issues. One of my biggest passions is on-land and underwater photography. I've had the bug to travel since I was young, and this program seems like the perfect blend of helping others, travel, and learn more (first-hand!) about daily life in other countries. I'm an active diver, hiker, and surfer. I'm very easy going but I also enjoy physical work and have a lot of experience in carpentry, electrical, and mechanical work.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - We can swap stories about life in the islands of Hawai'i
    - Can play the ukulele (and teach you a few tricks!)
    - Strong swimmers and rescue diver if aid is needed for water-related projects
    - Teaching and helping with writing / language acquisition
    - Photography, social media, and tech skills
    - Creative with an eye for artistic projects

    Anything we do not know how to do, we are willing and eager to learn!

  • Languages spoken

    English and a bit of French

  • Age

    21 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more