Verity

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (4)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    United States - from Nov 2022 until May 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hey
    I'm looking for workaway experiences focusing around nutrition n food/cooking: especially kombucha/fermentation, herbal medicine inc. mushrooms, learning about your country's cooking!

    I am hoping to start my trip in Nov '22. I'm currently living in the UK working as a chef de partie and working at local farmers markets.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Food and cooking: Worked in a stone baked pizza restaurant as KP/Bar/Pizza chef for 4 years - lots of experience following recipes, prepping and service for big events such as weddings and gatherings.

    Hospitality and customer service: Worked in customer facing roles previously, volunteering as a fundraiser, front of house roles, currently working in admin services. Worked as a holiday cottage cleaner, doing the change overs, cleaning and changing sheets etc. preparing the homes for new holidaymakers.

    Events: Have previously helped liaise events, organising the contractors, security, gathering attendees information etc. (university events, balls ETC)

    Administration: I have temped at a university doing front desk reception and menial administrative tasks and switchboard. I am completely computer literate and anything I have not worked with previously I am quick to pick up!

    Children: Worked for 7 months (march 2020-sept 2020) as a childminder during the first lockdown in the UK. Complete responsibility for two children aged 2 and 5 - meals and snacks, baths, naps and bedtime. As well as lots of fun activities - baking, sports, arts and crafts, going to the park and drawing etc! Volunteered with Girlguides UK ages 14-18.

    Studies: Completed undergraduate degree, competent with research and summarising works, working in academic environments, organising information etc. etc. TEFL Certificate


    Lived my whole life in the country side on a small holding so I quickly pick up skills but I am familiar with small DIY tasks/farm tasks: moving logs, digging, clearing weeds and brambles, painting, planting seeds, plastering, rendering, re-pointing walls, animal care inc. dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, parrots, and some horse experience.
    Confident in driving cars, quad bikes, motor bikes, tractors..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am currently doing a 120 hour TEFL course and would love to get some experience teaching English !

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    Would love to learn to express myself more creatively and become more grounded to the present!

    Don't know! I really want to learn about properties of herbs and more about foraging :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian/Vegan

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback