vaughancates

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malta, Morocco, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2019 - 07/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My Name is Vaughan I'm 57 years old when I was sixteen I served a four year apprenticeship as a carpenter and joiner in Bristol UK, which I successfully qualified for, later when I reached the age of 23, I then worked as an exhibition carpenter making exhibition stands and assembling then in England, Europe and America this I continued to do into my early 40s.
    I later then worked in a very traditional joinery wood workshop where I made bespoke hand made staircases.
    At this point in my life I needed a change of direction, I wanted to prove to myself that I could change career and move away from woodworking.
    This was achieved by taking the opportunity to work for a Charity called the Brandon Trust who work with adults with learning difficulties and my role was to be an instructor in a mobile gardening unit working in the community, I learnt new skills such as chainsaw operation and herbicide pest control which I have accreditation for.
    Working with adults with learning difficulties was a complete unknown to me when I started I had plenty of confidence with practical tasks but this role was as much about working with people and helping them to achieve success rather than myself and I have to say this had a massive impact on the way I think about myself and others.
    Then by chance an opportunity to work as Design and Technology teacher became available in a special needs school teaching KS3 and KS4 (11-16 years old) this was a particularly challenging role as nearly all the pupils were statemented for behavioural problems, within this role I would teach & deliver lessons. I would also develop lesson plans and schemes of work tailored to the pupils needs. This I done for approximately 10 years, and then decided I needed some time off for myself.
    Later in that year an opportunity arose to work for the Brandon Trust again, as a Project Leader in their Woodworking craft workshop, which I jumped at the chance to do. This involved working with adults with learning difficulties making small wooden craft items for sale. This role I done for around 3 years, up until the end of 2018 when I decided to take a break and possibly stop working altogether, so that I could enjoy some time to myself & exploring opportunities like Workway and independent travelling.

    My personal life, I have been married and I have a lovely daughter. I don't have many family commitments which makes my decision making unrestricted and therefore flexible. My hobbies are walking, cycling & table tennis with various social groups.
    I also enjoy camping and holidays and have a Triumph motorcycle I enjoy riding.
    I still enjoy some wood working on personal projects which have a more artistic theme to which I sometimes sell. I like to think that I'm quite a sociable person with lots of patience, and cope well with new challenges.
    I have done some volunteering in Bristol docks, helping to repair boats which are used by disadvantaged groups.
    I also have an animal care certificate.

    In short I have carpentry and joinery skills, I have qualifications which allow me to use wood working machinery and power tools. I have also done a variety of building work including some electrical plumbing, general maintenance and decorating. I have worked as a teacher in a special needs school, and worked with adults with learning disabilities including autism. I also have a care certificate for this sector.
    I have been an instructor for a mobile gardening unit which was based on a City farm and have animal care accreditation.
    I count myself lucky to have had a varied and interesting working career, and could use these skills to assist me in any Work Away projects that I'm able to participate in.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Fully qualified carpenter and joiner
    - City and Guilds Craft and Advance Craft certificate
    - Chainsaw and Herbicide Application Accreditation
    - Animal Care Accreditation
    - Care Certificate
    - Building work
    - Repairs and Maintence
    - Gardening
    - Electrical and Plumbing
    - Driven lorries up to 7.5 Tonne
    - Towed caravans & trailer
    - Currently DBS Checked
    - Full Driving License & Motorcycle License

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    58

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    - Very easy going, very flexible.
    - Possibility that my daughter may buddy up on a work away project with me at some point as we are both not a fan of the English winters.
    - Therefore happier to be in a warmer climate - prefer to be in a place with good social connections from when not working.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback