Victoria

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2016 - 10/12/2016

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1315

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    This will be my first time with workaway but I could not be more excited about this adventure and to find myself. I love to travel so this is the perfect fit for me! In 2012, I had the profound opportunity to travel to the Fijian islands and to live amongst the most hardworking, loving, and welcoming people I have ever met. To this day, that experience has changed my life and encouraged me to pursue that change of perspective again. The time I spent in Fiji encouraged me to be appreciative of the things I have and to live everyday to it's fullest. I do my best to apply this mantra to every single endeavor. I am a hard worker and am dedicated to the job that I do because I have pride in the quality of my work. I have worked hard my entire life because I believe that you have to work for what you want. In this future adventure, I aim to achieve a different point of view. I am currently working as a hostess at a restaurant and the majority of my job is to interact with guests which is the highlight of my day. I love meeting and interacting with people because of how they can enrich my life. I am a very adventurous person because I love new experiences--I plan on going skydiving in the near future! My favorite thing to do is to sing and it doesn't matter where I am or who I'm with. In my free time, drawing is my preferred method of relaxing. I have a nine-year old white labrador named Casper and he is the highlight of coming home because he always greets me with so much enthusiasm. As I am able to experience the enthusiasm with which my dog greets me, I plan to bring that same excitement to everything I do. I believe you should not judge a book by it's cover because you never know what a person is going through or who they truly are. I learned this lesson while volunteering every week at a soup kitchen. I found a love for making others smile and I believe that is the best thing you can give someone. I also think that experience allowed me to find my love for psychology. I am taking time off of college to immerse myself into the culture and values of the area I go to.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Trained in leadership skills, environmental preservation, skilled in cooking and housework, tutoring, CPR and lifeguard certified, organization and people skills, and experience with customers and clientele.

    I have painted and decorated my room, planted the garden in my backyard, my mom and I make an amazing spaghetti sauce and I can cook anything else, I love hearing the stories my 94 year old grandmother has to tell.

  • Languages spoken

    English, a little Spanish and Italian

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Being the only girl amongst 3 brothers, I am up for any challenge that comes my way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback