Valerie

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Valerie, I'm an easy-going yet hardworking 26-year old. I am a London based anthropology student at the moment, looking to get away from the city for cerca 2-3 months (flexible). As my university will still be provided online, I am hoping to get back to the countryside and work whilst attending university in my spare time!

    Throughout 2017-2018 I did 9 Workaways back-to-back! Lots of animal care, cleaning, cooking meals, driving, running errands, looking after guests in hostels, and gardening! Overall, I've spent a substantial amount of time living and working away - it's something I love doing and having been in London for a couple of years I am eager to get back to a workaway!

    Some experiences:
    - 6 months as an au pair in Italy
    - 4 months in Germany (x3 workaway)
    - 1 month in Croatia (volunteering at photography festival)
    - 5 months working as a cook in south France
    - 4 months working with horses in south Spain
    - 2 months working in a hostel (Gran Canaria)
    - 6 months working on Tresco Island in a restaurant.


    I have an incredibly curious mind and I am willing and interested to learn ANY new skills! I'm not interested in "doing" a country, I believe that to be a ridiculous statement, I'm just looking to live in new places around the world, meeting new people and having a good time! Very keen to get stuck into work and help out - no job too big or small, I shall always try to tackle it!

    I have worked for 4+ years in hospitality and helped to open a new restaurant when I was an assistant manager, so should you do events/ food/ hospitality - I am sure I can share a helping hand!




    Workaways/volunteering I have done -

    Milking cows (and herding!)
    Making cheese and yoghurt
    Gardening and weeding
    Animal care (goats, sheep, cows, horses)
    Helping to cook for upto 150 people
    Building and DIY work
    Horse care, feeding, stables, breeding, taking in & out
    Driving
    Photography festival
    Pickling
    Fruit and vegetable harvesting
    Baking bread
    Hostel work - cleaning, reception etc.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Hospitality, bar work, photography and developing film, organisation, animal care, hotel work, cooking, horse rider, helped to make cheese and yogurt, milking cows, gardening

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I've had a variety of jobs from working in a factory, a zoo,
    and working in the civil service. I've always been a hard worker and I pick things up incredibly quickly, whatever you can teach me I will be happy to learn and visa versa.

    I'm laid back and not easily upset or angered, I would say a very stoic being.

    Hopefully, see you soon!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      all food is good, I don't mind eating vegetarian!

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback