Ben & Alison

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling


    Exploring and volunteering across Europe full-time from September 2021 - March 2022

  • Description

    Hi! We're Ben and Alison, a husband and wife team excited to be taking a career break to travel and volunteer from September 2021-March 2022. We met through the salsa dance student club at our university and have been globe-trotting together for the past ten years.

    This will be an opportunity for us to travel slowly and get to know cool people and cultures, ourselves, and each other better! After spending years in the mountains of Colorado, we cannot wait to explore new places, meet new friends, and learn new languages! We are ready to live full-time outside of our comfort zone and focus on learning and helping others.

    Ben is a history buff who has worked in the tech industry for multiple startup companies. Alison is a yoga-loving primary school teacher with a focus on literacy. We are animal lovers who both grew up as American expats – Ben around Europe and Alison in Southeast Asia.

    * We are both fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and are happy to get tested before our arrival if you request. We also both have international driving permits.

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Videography
    Photography
    Blogging
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Some knowledge of:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Animal Care
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Alison and Ben are both native English speakers who are very comfortable with pet care (we have experience with dogs and cats, including basic dog training, and love all animals) as well as cooking, cleaning, animal rescue, photography, videography, computers, social media, writing, copyediting, graphic design, and latin dance instruction.

    Ben knows basic coding, marketing, and website building. He has an analytical mind and has been learning to wood-work recently.

    Alison has experience in blogging, crafting, designing lessons, and working with children. She is very organized and neat, and is currently learning to draw and paint.

    As two very eager and detail-oriented workers, we also learn new skills quickly! We share a passion for doing good work that we can be proud of and watching projects come to life. We can't wait to meet, learn about your culture, and help you out!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We are both native English speakers and Alison has experience teaching English to children in a school-setting.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    31 & 31

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback