Annemarie & Martijn

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2016 - 01/01/2023

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    513

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    If would like to see more of us, please visit:
    www.instagram/lostdirectionvanlife
    www.facebook.com/lostdirectionvanlife
    www.lostdirection.com
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC09A7wgtlGqv69TFs0NsFdg?view_as=subscriber

    Let me start by telling that this profile doesn't only involve me (33), but it also includes my boyfriend Martijn (39) and our baby Espen (0). We are a very happy young family from the Netherlands. Before we met each other we filled our lives working and paying bills. Besides our jobs we saw friends, exercised and life just went by as it does and we individually dreamt of an alternative lifestyle.

    From the day we met, everything changed. It was like al the pieces of a giant puzzle fell into place. After only a couple of months we created this idea of traveling the world together. Selling all that we have and creating the life we would want for ourselves at this point in life. In our 1977 Mercedes 508 camper we feltl free to explore both the world within and outside ourselves. Back to nature, back to the basics, where we feel most at ease.

    Martijn is a born carpenter. He has had a successful construction company for over 11 years now and finds most of his joy sketching, building and making whatever. He has great interest in alternative ways of building and would love to learn how to work with clay, straw-bales and eco friendly constructing and log building.

    I, Anne, and I'm a schooled holistic massage therapist. During our former travels I didn't really work a one. Mostly Martijn and I worked together on lots of different building project which was a lot of fun. Now I'm kind of busy being a young mother, which I really enjoy to the fullest.

    We are an openminded couple, we are willing to learn and exchange knowledge and best of all, we are not in a hurry. Our camper will be our home for the next coming years and we would like to go wherever the wind blows. Especially the colder climates will suits us, since we are traveling with our dog called Foofer. He is the most wonderful Newfoundland dog, aged 6.

    We started our trip in February of 2017. Both our houses have been sold and we have been living in our camper since the end of September 2016, in our home country the Netherlands. In 2019 we converted another camper (a Mercedes from the '60's), to suit our young family and we adjusted some new facilities that we thought might come in handy with a baby. For the past 3,5 years we have had a wonderful time together exploring Scandinavia and the Baltic States. Now, are the baby is born (in August 2019) we are up for the next round! We have no clue how this will work out with a baby, but we are very willing to try. So if you like to welcome a young family into your home, you like hard working people, but are also willing to adapt to a young kid, we would be happy to meet you.

    Annemarie & Martijn, Espen en dog Foofur

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Martijn is a creative and very skilled carpenter. He is openminded, easy going and likes to work hard.
    I'm a holistic therapist which left me with the skills to communicate easily and listen carefully. Even though i'm not a carpenter I have a creative mind and love diy projects. I tend to learn quickly and I have great interest in a lot of things having to do with nature, animal, building, cooking and hiking.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English and a bit of German.

  • Age

    33 & 39

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    The one thing that comes to mind, is that we would always be respectful to you and the place you invite us to. We would always be honest and treat you the way we would like to be treated.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarians.

Photos

Martijn battling the snow
Martijn, Anne & Foofur with our '77 Mercedes 508

Feedback