Tom & Paula

From: United Kingdom & New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/09/2018 - 31/01/2019

  • Description

    Tom and I meet in Wellington, New Zealand in June 2016. About 1 year ago we decided we would leave NZ to go on an overseas adventure around South East Asia and have been travelling for the last 2 months. We see Work Away as a great opportunity to meet local people and gain skills and experiences that we wouldn’t have otherwise. Our combined background experience includes; co-managing a hostel, bar and restaurant work, orchard work, professional cleaning and gardening. We are open to try new things, we believe our skills can be applied to most jobs and are happy to change our travel plans for the right opportunity.

    We have both written a bit about ourselves below.


    My friends would describe me as fun and caring. I am very easy to get along with and I’m not shy of getting my hands dirty. My work experience has varied over the years but the one thing that stands out for me is the people I have worked with. In my late teens I volunteered as a mentor for outdoor experiences with young teens which lead to an interest in human services. I studied for two years in this field and although this hasn’t lead to a career in Social Work, I still believe in the core values of helping people in need and the importance of community.


    Hi thanks for taking the time to read this, my name is Tom and I’m originally from the UK, having spent the past 3 years living and working in New Zealand. I have heard great things about workaway through fellow travellers on previous trips, and am now in a position to do it myself! I see workaway as a great way to stay for a more extended period in one place. It also allows you to engage on a deeper level with other cultures and people in a way that you may not get by just backpacking.

    Prior to travelling I have spent the past 2 years working as a Project Administrator for a construction company. I have experience working of working in a wide range of positions including co-managing a hostel and extensive experience of working in customer facing environments. I am a chatty and sociable person and always get along well with both colleagues and customers.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?


    - Office administration - 2 years
    - Bar and restaurant work - 3 years
    - Professional cleaning - 1 year
    - Kiwi fruit orchard, thinning and pollen picking - 2 months
    - Gardening (weeding and general tidying) - at home


    - BA Degree in Politics
    - Administration
    - Project Management
    - Customer Service
    - Hostel Work - I have experience in hostel management doing everything from the back office admin, greeting customers and explaining local information to making beds and general maintenance around the building.
    - I am Adaptable, Organised and Quick to pick up on new information
    - Gardening and general maintenance experience (at home)
    - Eager to get involved

  • Languages spoken


  • Age

    27 & 24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Tom - Pescatarian