T’keya

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/12/2017 - 09/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is T'keya and about a year ago I returned to Canada after solo backpacking for 10 months. Southeast Asia was incredible- like nothing I've experienced before, let alone the culture shock of going to the UK and returning home. I was amazed by the beauty of the world and by humanity, despite its flaws. After traveling in many different styles, I can say that I prefer unconventional ways of exploring. Spending little money, camping and connecting with nature, finding places that can't be found on tourist websites, connecting with locals, challenging myself, and meeting people all along the way! I've never enjoyed planning, so I'm always ready to drop everything and go with the flow of the universe :).
    Since I returned to Canada, I decided to spend more time getting to know my home country. And what better place to do that than the Yukon in the wintertime? I was born in Fort St. John BC, so cold winters aren't unknown to me, but I'm really looking forward to being secluded and to truly feel the forces of nature. I find it absolutely mesmerizing how communities survive and have survived for the past 7200 years in such extreme conditions. I don't care for fancy hotels or expensive meals. Teach me your way of life and I'll do everything I can to adapt and help out!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am highly interested in permaculture and sustainability. I have experience volunteering on an organic rice farm in Malaysia and have helped with gardens and farms for periods of time in Canada. I would love to learn more about taking care of the land and respectfully living off of what it has to offer.
    As soon as I returned from backpacking I took a 4-month trades introductory program and have some experience in carpentry, framing, electrical, plumbing, drywall, welding and so on. I have worked in trades on various different sites throughout northern BC as a welder's helper and laborer. I have a wood-burning kit I can travel with for artistic projects, I love perfecting different calligraphy styles.
    I also love spending time with people of all ages and animals. I've taught English before and have worked as a live-in nanny. I have a lot of fun entertaining children and letting them show me how they see the world! Elderly people are just as cute, I value their precious memories.
    I learn quick, I'm fit and able to do physical tasks, as well as tedious precise work. I'm neat and tidy and love making healthy food (Chocolate is healthy right ;) ) I'm also quite creative and enjoy opportunities to be artistic :) Above all else I really enjoy listening to people's stories and having fun!

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Thank you for taking the time to read a little bit about me!! I'm very lucky I heard about this website and am grateful for the opportunities available. I tell many people about WorkAway because it's such a lovely way to travel!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback