Tim

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/06/2019 - 15/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I am a very fit and energetic man who prioritizes health and quality of life. I have spent 35 years working in Education, Environmental Education, and Health Care in the USA. I have worked on a farm in VT, remodeled my cabin and landscaped several properties. I was a student of wovenearth.org where I enjoyed a permaculture design course in 2015. I really enjoy physical work in the outdoors. Currently, I am semi-retired and teach English online. Recently I have been working with organizations that develop sustainable living/agricultural projects in Thailand and Nepal. I love travel, challenge and natural living in every respect. People, Quality of life and sustainable living projects are my passion. I love people and animals.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking, Intermediate Horsemanship, Farm Animal Care, Permaculture knowledge, Gardening, Teaching, Light Construction, Active Listening, Team-Building, Painting, Household Chores, Group Presentations, Babysitting, Certified Respiratory Therapist (NBRC Credentialed), TEFL Certified English Second Language Teacher, WEA Certified Outdoor Education Wilderness Guide, Writing, Editing, Sales and Marketing. Proficient in many basic computer functions, but I did not check that box because I would give myself a "7" on a 1 to 10 scale (also, computer work is something I enjoy less than other chores.). Fairly handy with repairs, but I am not a plumber or electrician by any means. I have a strong "can do" attitude.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Thai (35% fluency), Spanish (35% fluency)

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am an avid reader who loves music, and I am a budding guitar player. I have been an outdoors person all my life, and enjoy hiking, skiing and cycling. My favorite jobs have been in Yellowstone National park, Colorado Springs and the State of Arizona.
    I am seeking an experience that is a "win/win" for any hosts and myself. I see my role as a job that ensures making my host a happy customer. If you're not happy - I'm not happy. I have practiced "mindfulness meditation", in addition to the manners I acquired from strict, sensible German parents in my native Illinois. A "win/win" experience requires a detailed understanding of expectations from both host and guest. I believe I am open and smart enough to make this happen. If you would like a workawayer who is flexible, can LISTEN, get things done, and have fun doing it - I'm your guy!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but I do try to keep my meat intake at about 25% of my diet, the rest is affordable rice, vegetables and fruit. :-)

Photos

Feedback